Full Term….so whenever you are ready daughter o’ mine…

So today I am officially 37 weeks and the baby is considered full term. Had I gone into labor before this point, doctors would try to stop the labor to let the baby bake a bit more, make sure her lungs are mature etc., but now, if it were to start, they would let it progress.  Of course – I have had absolutely no signs that I am aware of (other than her having dropped) that labor is imminent and now feel like I might last until very close to my due date of 1/16.  This is a bummer, and good all at the same time. It gives me time to finish all the little things and rest up some more (since my energy is limited to spurts during the day in between passing out on the couch during nearly any TV show or movie)…but it also means I need to endure the hip pain, pubic bone pain, constant peeing and fatigue …oh and the glucose testing/avoiding foods I love for a while longer. 

Baby has been super active in the last few days….sometimes it feels like she is trying to find a way out through my ribs and I keep telling her that DOWN is the way out.  It’s dark in there so maybe she is disoriented.  🙂

Speaking of glucose, I’ve been monitoring my sugars since Xmas Eve and despite two wonky numbers (one due to my ineptness at using the meter, and the other due to french fries) – the levels have been pretty darn good. Hoping that at my OB appt. on Monday they say no diabetes meds…but if they do, so be it. Also hoping that I am GBS negative…but at least then I wouldn’t have to worry about meds until delivery….

Leave a Reply

