The answer is a whole lotta nothing….

What is the question?  Well actually there are several….what’s the story? What is your status? Any labor pains? Water broken?  The answer to all is “yeah, a whole lotta nothing.”  Had my 37 week appointment today.  Tested positive for Group B Strep so that pretty much guarantees me an IV antibiotic once I do actually go into labor (hopefully I can still move around to deal with pain, or I will ask for drugs faster than you can say “EPI!”) Baby’s heartbeat is good at 153 – don’t have to take meds for sugar, just need to continue to watch my diet and continue to monitor my blood sugar to make sure they aren’t wacky. According to the doctor I lost .5 lbs – yay!  Hopefully that is only the beginning of the backwards tilting of the scales.  Next check up  1/4/10 (there goes our little tax break….)SPECIAL NOTE: I hope that any of the people reading this know that if they are one of those asking the questions above, I appreciate the caring behind it, was not trying to offend… and you can bet your bottom dollar you will be informed when I pop!!

In other news…called the CHP to get my car seat “checked.”  This is one of the myriad of things they do not tell you about when you first set out to have a baby (along with how much “stuff” you will need even if you are not a “stuff” accumulator, and how stupid uncomfortable pregnancy is…can you tell I’m ready to get baby out to use all this “stuff” and not feel like I have broken hips anymore??)  I was informed by the closest CHP office that their first appointment was not until Jan. 21.  I asked what the hell I was supposed to do given my due date is sooner than that (and hello it’s not even January yet – are ya really checking that many seats???)…and they said try the Moorpark office.  Let’s see — 9 months pregnant, can barely make it in the car to drive to my doctor in Burbank without having to pee…gonna travel to Moorpark to have a chipper pull on the handle and say, yep, that looks good to me??? NOPE – not gonna happen.  According to www.carseatcheck.org, they say 3 out of 4 people install their car seats incorrectly.  I’m betting that I am in the 25% who decide to have children AND are mechanically inclined with a reading level above 6th grade.  Gar. When I was born, I remember sitting in the back seat while my mom HELD my sister…and I’m pretty sure I didn’t even have a seat belt on.  How times have changed. 

2 weeks + 4 days to my due date….tick tock tick tock….

Leave a Reply

