Happy New Year!

2010!  I spent my New Year’s Eve with my sweet hubby, sitting on the couch….we ate a meal from one of our favorite restaurants (Hugo’s), watched Angels & Demons (entertaining…though at some times kind of ridiculous) and watched the ball drop twice (once on the East Coast with Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin and once on the West with Ryan Seacrest and someone who might once have been Dick Clark).  It was just where I wanted to be, and who I wanted to be with (with the exception of Maya, who still doesn’t want to come out.)

In addition to tidying up a bit and taking it easy today, I finally managed to watch “The Business of Being Born” – a documentary made in part by Ricki Lake (yes THAT Ricki) and a friend of hers called Abby Epstein. Probably should have watched it PRIOR to making a decision as to where I wanted Maya born and whether or not I wanted a midwife (I did but the extra cost was prohibitive), but glad I watched nonetheless.  In the last couple of weeks I had pretty much given up on my initial idea of shooting for a natural un-medicated birth due to various things  – wanting to just get her out any way “they” suggest and the annoyance of the positive Group B strep test, plus the recent GD developments.  But this movie made me re-think I really should shoot for my original plan, leaving flexibility in there in case complications arise or I realize that the pain is way too much to endure.  Regardless of the manner in which she arrives, I truly cannot wait to meet my little one. I know she will decide when she wants to come, but the thought of actually getting to kiss her little face WHENEVER that is makes me want to clap!

2 comments

  1. AAAAHK! I can’t wait! I was clapping reading the post! I cry alot these days! She will be the most kissed child this family has seen in a lonnnng time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

