Recap: Mother’s Day Weekend

I’ve come to realize that I cannot always write when I want, or I am too tired at night even when I do want to write, so from now on I’m going to do recaps…and hopefully this will allow me to get down what I want, when I am able.

So pretty much every year since my grandmother died from ovarian cancer (and if I recall correctly…which I rarely do these days…for a year or two before that), I have done the EIF Revlon Run/Walk.  Usually held the Saturday before Mother’s Day, it is a 5K race whose proceeds go to help fight women’s cancers. It’s a fun event usually, though I generally get teary at least once during the day looking at all of the “in support of” and “in memory of” signs.  However, it does make me feel like I am doing something about the problem. Last year when I did it, I had just found out I was pregnant. This year I knew I was going to have an infant but wanted to do it anyway as a goal for myself in case I for some reason had become a total couch potato after having Maya. Evan and I got up at 5a, got ready, then got Maya up, fed and were on our way. Last year was a complete clusterf&^% in terms of parking so we wanted to leave super early.  We actually ended up finding parking by the Shrine which was not even advertised by the Walk, and was cheaper. That was a +!  We got there, put Maya in the stroller and took the 20 minute or so walk through USC and Exposition Park to the “pre-party” they have before the start by the Coliseum.  We wandered around amongst the throngs, checking out the booths. Neither of us were willing to stand in line for any of the stuff (really, you’re going to stand in line 40 minutes for a free toothbrush?) so we went to find a place where I could sit and nurse Maya. Around 8:30a we went to line up at the start area. I say start area because due to our stroller we had to be behind everyone else.   I appreciate this as there is nothing worse than trying to get a good start on a run with a slow-ass mama with a stroller in front of you. So we went to the back. What we didn’t know is that this was going to push back our start time by 45 minutes. So rather than starting around 9a, we didn’t actually get to the start LINE until a quarter ’til 10a!  This sucked as we knew Maya was eventually going to get hungry…and the later we started the hotter it was going to be at the finish.  Boo.  Once we actually “started”, it took us about 1 hour, 20 minutes to finish.  We took our picture and went to get our water and snacks only to find out….no snacks left. Really? Really? You didn’t plan for enough snack boxes? I’m not looking for a free handout, but at the end of a long walk, it’s nice to have the snacks they said they would provide – otherwise I would have not only brought food for our breakfast, but also snacks for afterwards.  Boo x2.  We made a few wrong turns on the way back from the Coliseum, so the 20 minute walk back to the car turned into 35, and only exacerbated the ache in my hips (apparently I have still been waddling since I had Maya and I need to relearn how to walk properly!). Boo x3  Thankfully, Maya did not complain about it, and was happy to eat in the car once we reached it.  Both Evan and I had hunger headaches and just aches in general (my hips, Evan’s nose and head due to his cold…oh and did I mention Maya was sick also??? Oy…) – so we headed straight to In N Out.  🙂 A shower and a nap later, I felt much better.

My first Mother’s Day was lovely, despite some minor hiccups – and despite the fact that both my daughter and husband were sick!  We went to Hugo’s for breakfast as I had seen their May menu and was dying to try the sweet mole pancakes.  BIG Mistake.  I have never disliked anything from there but these were….just not my cup of tea. They kind of tasted like….dirt.  The description said “hint of chili powder”  – well, let’s just say it was more than a hint.  Way more.  I could only get down one. I brought the other two home but don’t have any idea why as I REALLY did not want to eat them. I threw them out and told Evan I should have gotten my oatmeal frittata.  I would have been much happier!  My mom and Ed came over for dinner and Dawn stopped by to give us cards.  We ordered from Georgio’s (fab Italian place in the TJ’s shopping center off of Laurel Cyn. and Ventura) so the moms (me included, isn’t that strange?) didn’t have to do anything…poor Maya was really sad as she was sick. All glassy-eyed, sneezy and sniffly, and freaking out at Grandpa Ed’s loud voice.  He will have to learn how to use his inside voice 🙂 But she was still sweet as pie.  Until we tried to put her to bed and she screamed. Very unlike her….the whole day might have been too much for my little sickie. But it was memorable nonetheless.  Still can’t believe I am a mom.  Wonder when it will sink in…

One comment

  1. I totally CAN’T believe you’re a mom…LOL. Time flies. But I am so glad you are a mom because you have so much love to give and so much to teach little Maya. Glad you had a nice Mother’s Day. You deserve it =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

