4 Month Checkup (a week late)

Though we had been scheduled for last week, we rescheduled due to my cold (and subsequently Maya’s cold) so my Mom and I took Maya for her 4 month check up and shots today. 

Here are her stats:

Length: 23 inches (5-10th percentile)

Weight: 13lbs. 2 oz. (25-50th percentile)

Head Circumference: 16 3/4 inches (75-90 percentile)

So she has really caught up in her weight (4 lbs. since her 2 month appt. – got breast milk?), and grew about 2 inches.  And, as the nurse says, she has a big brain 🙂

She was a happy girl right up until the shots part…and cried for longer this time afterwards. But still not really too bad.  We asked the doc about Vitamin D drops (might not help, but can’t hurt), when to start solids (around 5 months, rice cereal or veggies if she seems interested…if not, don’t push it and try again later), and the tilt she seems to have to her head these days.  He checked her neck and it did seem stiff to him so he said if there was no change by Monday call him to let him know.  Other than that she checked out fine.  Once we got home she had a snack and then was super tired so slept for about 2.5 hours…then the hysterical screaming came.  Poor baby, I tried some cool compresses and I think that just pissed her off so I grabbed the generic acetaminophen that I made sure to have by today and gave her a dropper full.  She still was freaking out so I nursed her and that seemed to calm her down…she has still been fussy but was never as bad as she was waking up from the nap.

I’m hoping the neck thing goes away. She has always slept often looking to her left and uses her head to adjust her position (kinda weird, I know).  She’s on her playmat now talking to Froctopus and seems to have no problem at all looking to the right, so maybe I should just increase her tummy time and that will make her neck stronger.  How different the problems that present themselves for solving when you become a parent.

In other news, my cough is lingering. And annoying.  And every time I cough, I pee a little.  This along with the 17 extra pounds I am carrying, the ache in my knees and hips makes me love the aftermath of pregnancy. NOT! I do love Maya though 🙂

Leave a Reply

