Field Trip – Griffith Park

Back at the beginning of the month, I mentioned that I went to my friend Katie’s Derby party. While I was there, I was talking to one of our mutual friends, Theresa – a mom of a 7 month old.  We were talking about Mommy groups and she mentioned www.meetup.com as a great place to find mommy groups in your area.  Well I checked it out, signed up for one, and asked the site to send me emails for groups that would meet my needs as time went on.  Well a few days later, I got a notification of a new group so I checked it out…as I was looking at the picture of the organizer, I realized…wait a minute – that’s Theresa!! Ironically, she set up a new mommy group and I randomly got the notification of its formation.  Long story short, (I know, too late) – I joined and today was our first meetup at Griffith Park. 

As I’ve said before, I want Maya to get the experience of meeting and socializing with other babies of her age, despite my trepidations about “groups.”  Thankfully, this group did not allow my fears to be realized.  There was only one other mom there to start besides myself and Theresa but we had a nice time sitting under the trees with our kiddos and even had a random other mom join us with her two little ones.  It was a gorgeous day out, despite being a little windy. We even took a (thigh-burning) walk up Fern Dell to the Trails cafe’ where we sat and had a snack (I had a rockin’ lavender vanilla shortbread cookie). I had two random celebrity sightings (I won’t out them so they can still enjoy anonymity in the park)…and we met a few more moms at the cafe’.

How did Maya like the day? Well, turns out she is shy like her mother.  It took her quite a bit to warm up at first, but after a while she finally started babbling as she does, though it was much softer sounding outside than in our apartment. She did a lot of looking around and observing, again much like her mommy – and took a nap during the walking portion.  I’m hoping with some encouragement and with more exposure, she will become more open.

By the end of the day I was exhausted (more exercise than I usually get, plus Maya was up once during the night for some reason) and hungry as the cookie didn’t cut it for lunch, but glad that I was able to get out and to get Maya on her way to making friends.

3 comments

  1. If God blesses us with a child once we finally choose to have one, I really hope I’m as thoughtful a mom as you! Thank goodness I get to learn from you in the meantime…Keep sharing your stories to us future moms – we need the info! XOXO

    Like

  2. How neat that you were able to meet up with Theresa. I am glad that you both are getting out and socializing. Maybe Maya and Abigail will become best friends! And, thanks for the shout out. I am glad that you enjoyed the party and the grits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

