Thoughts and Musings: The In-Between Stage and the Gulf

So…I’m not one of those women who 3 months after their baby is born says – “I’m already back into my pre-pregnancy jeans!” In fact – I might actually hate those women. Not totally, but…sometimes, especially when they say THAT.  I gained 42 lbs from April of 2009 thru January of this year.  So far I’ve lost 26….and I’m kind of stuck there (breastfeeding worked like a charm, for the first few months but seems to have slowed…) But that’s not my point, my point is, I’m in that in-between stage….where my maternity clothes are too big plus I don’t really want to be wearing them anyway anymore and my pre-prego clothes are too small. Not only are they too small, they are small in weird places. Like if I could possibly ever get pants over my ass, they MIGHT close around my pudgy waist.  I feel like I need two different sizes of clothes, and that is just for the bottom half! The top half is semi-normal, so most of my shirts fit, albeit snugly, plus some things I just would rather not wear for ease of nursing. I don’t want to buy a whole new wardrobe, but who knows when the hell I’m going to be back to where I was at….plus – where I was at was 10 lbs more than where I wanted to be and probably 20 lbs more over where I should be….and 30 more than where Weight Watchers thinks I should be (I really think those Weight/Height charts are ridiculous – considering I haven’t been at their desired weight for me since high school or shortly thereafter).  So my question is…what do y’all do when you are in that in-between stage?  And what if I am forever in an in-between stage? Gah.

My other gripe for today is the mess in the Gulf.  Yes, I drive a car that requires gasoline that requires crude that requires us getting it from somewhere.  I’d prefer however in the future that us getting that crude would not slowly kill the beautiful planet on which we live. I wish that maybe before we take such a risk as letting oil be drilled out of our oceans, that we plan for the worst case scenario and maybe have some better ideas for plugging the goddamn thing besides shooting mud and concrete down the well, or my personal favorite, golf balls!  They want to shoot golf balls in the blowout preventer!! REALLY???? OY. The CEO of BP, Tony Hayward, is the biggest joke.  He seems to not understand the severity of the problem. At first they were saying, it was a “modest” problem and it has graduated into the biggest environmental catastrophe ever…bigger than the Exxon Valdez. I envision somewhere about 16 years from now, Maya comes to me from her AP US History course and asks me, “So, Mom – we’ve been reading about this place called the Gulf Coast, and how it was basically destroyed by an explosion on a foreign oil rig.  My teacher told me there used to be this really awesome place called New Orleans, but before the oil rig exploded, there was a giant hurricane and the place just never recovered from these two tragedies.  Now I get the hurricane, but we totally could have prevented the oil rig from exploding, right?”

What am I going to say to her? Well I’m going to tell her several things… – yes my love, we probably could have prevented the oil rig from exploding by not letting it park in the Gulf in the first place.  But dear Maya, many people in this country have a dependency on oil. Our president at the time had promised we would spend more money on clean energy, but he didn’t really start talking about it until the sh*t hit the fan so to speak. In fact, as I’m sure you read about in your textbooks (if they still have those in 16 years) just shortly before the rig exploded, he decided to approve MORE drilling for oil off our coasts. Moreover, we could have had a better response to both Hurricane Katrina and the explosion of the oil rig in the Gulf, but our government tends not to prepare for things quite as well as it should, nor to respond to things as fast as they should or as effectively as they might have.  And some of our Presidents find vacation to be more interesting than  huge environmental catastrophes, so he would ignore it until he was good and ready to leave the ranch.  Ugh, Maya, I’m sorry you might not get to ever experience the beauty that is New Orleans or the marshland of the Gulf states. 

Maybe by the time she takes her first road trip down South, this mess will be cleaned up. Here’s to hoping.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

