C is for Catching Up

The title of my post alludes to a new song I have made up for Maya that always makes her smile and catches her attention if she is fussy.  A is for Apple. Aa Aa Aa.  Due to what I think is teething…I’ve been singing a lot of it lately.  Though I must say, at this age, if your kid is fussy, everyone says they are teething even though it could be something totally different. It’s kind of like on House where everyone’s first shot at a diagnosis during the differentials is “could it be lupus?”  But really I think she is teething.  The drool is up a notch and she is whiny. But it could be a growth spurt. I don’t know. No, really, I don’t.

So…catching up.  Maya and I went to the LA Zoo for the first time (well, she for the first time ever and me for the first time in FORever).  I had stopped going because the last time I was there, it was just sad.  The animals looked unhappy, it was crowded, not clean….then the gorilla escaped. I just had no interest. But now, I have a kid and baby weight to get off – so I thought the zoo is a great place to show her animals, and just get her some fresh air whilst getting my butt some exercise.  And exercise we did.  It was a meetup for one of my mommy groups.  There ended up being 4 of us in all and it was a really nice time. Since I was there last it seems they did some fixing up of the place, with some projects still in progress (namely the Pachyderm Forest).  We checked out the flamingos, lion, tiger, zebras, gorillas and chimps, sea lions, giraffes, elephants from afar, and some other random animals that I cannot remember the name of.  We grabbed a bite to eat by the giraffes when by some miracle all of the babies decided to take a nap simultaneously. So the moms could actually eat and chat! Hallelujah. I broke out Maya’s big girl stroller for the trip and she seemed to really like the whole facing forward bit. That is until the end of the day when she was hot and bothered and wanted to go home and wanted to cry and scream whichever way she was facing.  But it was a very successful 5 hour outing. And at the end of the week I had lost 1.5 pounds!  Whoo hoo! 

In other news, I had some skin cancer removed from my nose last week.  This is the second bit that I have had removed…right around the time of my sister’s bachelorette party, I got the one taken off from my upper back and I knew this thing on my nose would have to eventually go as well. The NP at the derm said that I am pretty young to be having this happen and that they will have to watch me closely and that I need to be vigilant about the sunblock.  Great.  So much for being Puerto Rican. I guess the tropical sun-loving skin gene skipped my generation. Actually looks like it skipped Maya too…that kid is going to be kept in the shade for ever…she is paler than me!  I was completely shocked the first time when they told me about the spot on my back but honestly was not surprised about this latest one.  All I can say about this is everyone should be supervigilant about their moles, freckles and skin bits that scab over and don’t heal as you don’t want to let this stuff escalate. I’d rather have skin as pitted as Kinickie from Grease before I let something nasty grow.

Besides the mommy groups, Maya has had several playdates – all with adorable little boys. She told me specifically that Rocco, Lucas and Grayson are the bomb diggity and she would love to play with them again soon. And luckily I really like their respective mommies, so I approve of the blossoming relationships 🙂

I also finally went to the chiropractor and WOW. What a difference a good cracking makes. Not to mention laying on that rolling table  – pure heaven….I will be going back next week to continue fixing things. In addition I managed to do yoga this week. One time, but in my defense, both Maya and I were under the weather slightly (some days more so). So I’m on my way…Ev and I also decided (ok, I decided and he said ok with a pout) that we are only going to have dessert twice a week instead of nightly so we can get some weight off.  I’m hoping that helps. We’ll see on Sunday when I weigh in.

I really don’t have much else to say except, one year later I still can’t believe MJ is dead, and 60+ days later, BP still sucks.

2 comments

  1. oh my god!!!! joy i absolutely love love love love your blog!!! i am hooked… sign me up… you really have a way with story telling… i really enjoyed your outing.. will be sure to read the past blogs.. you crack me up… as for the white thing.. hello me mexican.. me look white and daughter too… sun is no good for us.. though i love sun…so i guess just like you and maya, mina will have to do without sun or use a very very very high spf.. i on the other hand, will continue to use 4 spf..and cross my fingers..though i have some sun spots that sometimes seem to be getting bigger. any who keep up with the stories i love them.. take care.. see ya on facebook

    Like

Leave a Reply

