7 months old and the busiest few weeks in a looong time.

Wow – what a busy couple of weeks I’ve had. I haven’t had time to breathe, much less to write.  But first, let me say that today my little pumpkin Maya is now 7 months old.  Closer to 1-year-old than 1-day-old and it has gone so so fast I can’t believe it.  I enjoy her immensely and from the crazy “Wah-wah-wah!” I get when I leave the room or let someone hold her (or even look at her sometimes) that she doesn’t know well, I think she enjoys her momma too. She is probably a little under 17 lbs. now, and sitting on her own.  She loves reading, playing with the toys on her Baby Einstein Discovery Center and blowing raspberries into the air.  What a doll I have.

So what the hell have I been up to,  you ask? (Or maybe you don’t care, but I’m going to tell you anyway…) Evan and I celebrated our 7-year anniversary of dating by going to see In the Heights, the 2008 Tony-Award Winning Musical written, directed and starred in by fellow Rican Lin-Manuel Miranda.  Mom babysat while we went to a matinee…and it was AWESOME.  I have basically said if you have any heart for the story of Latin-American immigrants (particularly Puerto Ricans or Dominicans), you would love this show. It has a great story, great music (a mix of salsa and hip-hop) and poetry (more like slam) and dancing as well.  Not only a nice date with my hubby, but a fab show. 

I also saw Despicable Me, the Steve Carell-voiced animated film with Maya at one of the Mommy movies with my mommy group (how many times can I say “mommy” in this post?).  It was good, but this time I had a hard time concentrating as Maya needed my attention more.  I’ll have to see it again when I’m not holding a baby in my arms.

Skin cancer update:  according to the nurse at the derm’s office, it is healing nicely and I need to go back in Sept. for another follow-up. So far, so good. Fingers crossed that continues.

Weight loss update: 3 lbs. loss, great hunger the next week, then stopped counting  and inching up again. I think 15 lbs of the weight I gained with the baby was not-baby related and just related to me eating whatever and not being able to exercise.  I guess that is still technically baby-related, but it’s going to be a bitch to get off these last pounds. Especially since, once the “baby” weight is gone there is still at least 10 more to go before getting prego again. Thank G-d I’m not in a rush for that.

Several good lunches with friends and fam (mediterranean with Nudel and Kiana, Artisan cheese with Wendi, Grilled Cheese Truck with my sis, Liz-Ann and the Padua twins), a visit from my Mother-in-Law that coincided with my Mom’s 60th birthday (Maya still has all her limbs thankfully) and finally a weekend with NOTHING to do, that’s it you read it right – NOTHING! That brings us all to today.  I’m hella pooped.

Leave a Reply

