10 months + 1 … where we’ve been and where we’re going.

First off, let me say Happy Anniversary to me! (and Evan!) – It’s been only 4 years since we and our families threw a pretty good party to celebrate our marriage…and to think of all the things that have happened since (new apartment, the honor of seeing both of our siblings married, 8 month journey to get pregnant, the birth of our daughter, and subsequent raising of that little munchkin)…it seems like sooo long ago!

What else seems like so long ago…and at the same time like yesterday?  Maya’s birth!  It has been 10 months and seriously it seems like it was yesterday, yet I can’t remember the first 3 months (good thing I wrote it all down!)…

Something I haven’t done in a while –

Maya can: laugh like crazy, stand for long periods while holding onto the coffee table or chair ottoman, walk with help, shimmy and shake, express her opinion, poop like an adult (in size, not yet in the toilet….though I will introduce the potty in a few months) babble and say half-words like “duh” for duck and “ba” for ball and “uh-oh” except not really in context,

Maya likes: playing peek-a-boo, pat-a-cake, going to her Mommy and Me class, music, having raspberries blown on her stomach, yogurt, cheese, hard-boiled egg, her stuffed monkey Bob (he’s her BFF), bathtime, her rubber duckies, her doggie that barks, nums (still), going for walks in the afternoon with her momma, Baby’s First Moves by Baby Einstein, her Go, Dog. Go! book,

Maya dislikes: her face being cleaned after a meal, her hands being cleaned after a meal, being left alone playing for more than 5 minutes, being put down for a nap when she’s not drowsy (even though she eventually falls asleep), tummy time (still) and will roll over shortly after being put there

Since my last update we have gone to festivals (Calabasas Pumpkin Festival and Sherman Oaks Street Fair, not to mention the first Encino Food Truck Festival), dressed our little pumpkin up as a ladybug for Halloween and had her participate in a Halloween parade.

We managed to book our timeshare in Cancun for now, but hopefully in March that will change to Hawaii.

I managed to vote. Strangely, the man who was Governor when I was born and when I first moved here from NY with parents is now Governor again, and I got to vote for him this time.  Other than that, I’m glad I live in a state of blue, and interested to see what these yahoo Tea Partiers are going to do now that they’re going to the Big Dance.  I have a feeling I should get my abs in shape for all of the laughing I will do.  Not to mention my eyes ready for all the fun Matt Taibi articles I’ll get to read in the next two years. I hope all of the people who assumed that President Obama was a miracle worker realize that they still need to help him out if they want him to accomplish his mission and not just lose interest after a few years or expect too much from one man. People need to be realistic.

I am super tired of the heat.  Please let autumn be here to stay…

I’m down to 182.9 – not counting points, but walking nearly every day with Maya.

And that brings us to today….the year is going to snowball from today through to JD’s birthday to a visit from Grammie, to Thanksgiving, Chanukah, then Christmas, New Year’s and Maya’s first birthday.  I just hope I have a minute to write in the next two months ….until the next time.

One comment

  1. I was thinking about that first month 2 days ago, when it all started – I can’t believe it’s been 10 months either! It does seem like so long ago! She’s a little person now with quirks, likes and dislikes and I love her like crazy! I think of that first month and how well you did then with her, and how great you’re doing now being a mommy! The best is yet to come!

    Like

Leave a Reply

