“The perfect is the enemy of the good.”

I didn’t realize I quite liked Voltaire until I was thinking about this quote (and it’s several variations and interpretations)` and did a little research on the man…I’ll have to add him to my “20 Dead People you’d like to have to dinner” list.  But anyway…how does this relate to me?  If you’re reading this and read this blog on any semi-regular basis, you’ll note this is my first post in a while.  For someone who promised to blog more, I have been doing  a pretty craptastic job of it.  Why, you ask? Well let’s just say I have perfectionist tendencies, so rather than me just posting daily, quickly, whatever is on my mind…I agonize over what I have to include, what I want to include, how it reads, yadda yadda yadda. So my desire for a perfect post makes it so I give up writing a lot of good ones.  I started to treat this blog like a diary, which is not at all what I intended. So New Year, New Rule. Anecdotal bits, updates if I feel the need, and lots of writing.  Here goes…

This year I turn 35 (in exactly one month and 9 days).  I feel like it is a big birthday, but I’m not mad at it at all. I am happy. I have a wonderful husband and a healthy, beautiful daughter.  I’m educated, have clean drinking water, a roof over my head, food on the table and the ability to stay home and raise aforementioned daughter.  Life is good.  Sure, there are things I would like to do but I can’t (travel a lot, buy a house and spend beaucoup bucks decorating it, have a dog so Maya can say “oooh!” all day long, go back to getting regular pedicures and manicures and haircuts and color every 6 weeks) – but all that stuff will come in time. More importantly, all that stuff is just that. STUFF.  I’ve got the important things in life covered.

Speaking of the important things in life – my teeny tiny baby turned ONE a few weeks ago.  We had her one year appointment where she got poked and prodded by Dr. Frend and our favorite nurse, none of which she liked (she’s all smiles until they go to touch her, then her head spins and pea soup exits her mouth.  Not really but you get the picture.) 

She is now 27 inches tall (2 foot 3…hee hee), 20 lbs. 10 oz. with a head circumference of 18 and 3/4 (or something like that…I forget. See if I was still being a perfectionist, I would have run to my desk to fish out the paperwork from the appt. to make sure…but I didn’t. I’m cured! Not.) All her percentiles were the same, and everything else checked out so she’s good until her 15 month appt.  We also had a follow-up with Dr. Kay at Children’s Hospital to check up on her hips. We got another X-ray which checked out fine and the exam was good as well.  I did express concern with her not ever crawling and also not walking, and they said at this point she could still just be a late bloomer (same opinion as Dr. Frend) but that if by 15 months she is not making appropriate progress, then they would want her to be evaluated.  I feel for her as she seems so frustrated by not being able to go where she wants, and I physically feel for my back from having to carry her and or walk her around still.  This whole period is a constant trying to get her to stop whining for what she wants by figuring out what the whines mean. I should have been more consistent with the signing.  Though I guess it is never too late to ramp it up! 

She loves going on walks with Mommy, playing with her friends (when she is not melting down from one of them being too loud or being startled…), dancing to music, eating, playing with her squeeze toys in the bath, and playing peek-a-boo games.  She’s got a great laugh, and a fake one too. Not to mention a fake little cry when I’m not attending to her properly…she’s gotten another tooth (top right) with another on the way (top left) and I think this whole teething thing is making her not sleep well. Today she didn’t nap. And we tried. Twice.  So 5:25p bedtime it was, let’s just hope she doesn’t get up at 4:30a raring to go…

Speaking of raring to go – I am so not. I am tired, so for now, I bid you adieu.

P.S. Can anyone explain to me why when someone cuts me off and I honk at them so that I don’t get hit, they feel the need to flip me the bird and/or challenge me to pull off the side of the road and duel?  People are such a$$holes.

2 comments

  1. As they say…”this too shall pass” – however, I’m not sure that helps much when dealing with a whining baby – but in the scheme of things, it’s merely a blip.

    As for why people flip you the bird when you honk and they’re in the wrong? Most people don’t want to admit they were wrong….the polite ones ignore you completely and the a$$holes flip the bird!

    Like

Leave a Reply

