30 Days of Thanks – Day 29 (Italy)

Today I am grateful for Italy.  It’s art, language, people, food, culture, music, colors, history – everything, tutto.  Attending a lecture tonight at the Getty about Florence and the Dawn of the Renaissance reminded me of this.  My love affair with Italy started in college when I took the language on a whim, continued and intensified when I studied abroad in Siena towards the end of my time at UCSB, and has never waned since.  I knew the first time I left there, as the tears streamed down my face while I watched the scenery become smaller and smaller from that tiny airplane window, that it had grabbed me for life….and for that I am grateful.

5 comments

      • I went to St Wolfgang in Austria when I was a kid – nearly drowned there actually LOL (now there’s a blog post waiting to happen LOL) – we took a day trip into Italy and the only two things I can remember are the coffee and the Alps LOL

        Like

      • Ohhh…there is so much to see! After living there I’ve only been back once…my goal is to get back there before 40. I ‘ve got 2.5 years or so to plan!

        Like

Leave a Reply

