3 years, 3 weeks – Where’s my little monkey at now?

I haven’t done a Maya update in awhile…life has been chaotic. More so than the usual chaotic, but that is a whole other post entirely (coming soon!)  But since I have apparently chosen to use this method to record Maya’s milestones  rather than traditional means, I better stick with it!

My little monkey is now 3.  We decided to skip the party this year (best. idea. ever.) and take her to Disneyland and California Adventure instead.  She is very into fairies, and just getting into princesses (though I loathe this idea…thank goodness her favorite is Belle, the non-princess!) – so this was the optimal choice.  We made it a surprise for her and the look on her face when I pulled into the parking lot and she recognized the Disney logo was great (I do believe that this is also her first sight word…sick.) The look on her face every time a princess/female Disney character approached our breakfast table at Ariel’s Grotto was priceless. Most of our time was spent either eating or waiting in line for a photo op character meet, and she really only wanted to go on one ride due to her fear of the dark (King Triton’s Carousel at CA Adventure.) She might have been a little overwhelmed at times, but it was clear she had such a good time.

She started Transition (to preschool) in the Fall, which is basically a 2-day a week program that gets them used to the idea that they will be spending time away from their primary caregiver who in Maya’s case was me for the first 2 years of her life.  Other than the 2nd day of class freak out where I was not allowed to leave her side and she cried forever, she has done great.  She loves her teacher, and has slowly warmed to playing with the other kids in class.  It’s been great for her language (as if she wasn’t talking a lot before, now it is in paragraphs….fast paragraphs) and her confidence on the playground.  In a few short weeks, she will begin nursery school/preschool in the same place 5 days a week as I am going back to work full-time.  I’m sad that she has to be there all day a few days a week, but once she gets used to it, I know that the experience will be a positive one for her (at least that’s what I tell myself when I think about it too much…)

Maya graduated from services at the Regional Center, so we had to say goodbye to Dr. Faryl and Natalia who took over PT, after our time with Margaret was over. She loved playing with them all, and we took pictures to commemorate the relationships she built with them.

I also got to see the IEP (Individualized Education Plan…here is your intro lesson to Special Education!) process from the parent side, as opposed to the teacher or administrative designee side (both of which I have been privy to in my field of work.)  I’ve realized that from all sides it is incredibly tedious, but in the best interests of the child.  Maya will continue to receive services through LAUSD at her private preschool and hopefully by the time she is actually in kindergarten I will be able to exit her out of the program.

Here are Maya’s stats from her 3 year checkup:

35 inches (she grew 3 inches since last year)

29 lbs. (up 4 lbs. from last year)

BP 108/64 (I had no idea they do this for 3 year olds), and otherwise healthy…

This was the first time in three years she did not hysterically cry upon entering the office. And no tears at all until they pricked her finger for blood…such a big girl!

Current loves: TV: Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood (done by the same people who did Mr. Rogers), Little Einsteins, that Jake show with the Pirates (though I find this to be drivel so I don’t let her watch it often), still Sesame Street on occasion, Paula Deen, Guy Fieri and the Pioneer Woman on the Food Network…still everything Disney, especially Mickey, Minnie, Duffy and now the friends from Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, still Disney Fairies, Belle! She’s obsessed with Belle!  Still Cooking with Mom, Grandma, or Grammie. Still reading (especially Mickey Mouse Club books…) Surprises (especially if they involve presents or food.) Chocolate.  Bagel pizzas, macaroni and cheese. Chocolate milk. SINGING – this is a new development and wow is it the cutest thing ever.  This goes for Mommy music and Maya music. Still Dancing. Anything by Maroon 5 (thank goodness she does not understand lyrics yet), Adele, Keane’s “The Hamburg Song” (AKA The Hamburger Song) and really music in general.

Current dislikes: Naps 😦 Still all of the following: Hair washes, car washes, other kids invading her play space, though that is getting better.

Maya is still in pull-ups at night and it’s fine with me.

She is a funny, sweet, cautious, opinionated, observant, smart and beautiful little girl. Still so glad and proud I get to be her Mom.

IMG_1915
Here’s my squinty monkey while we made cupcakes the other day

9 comments

  1. She’s adorable! Reminds me of James, actually 🙂

    My favourite memory of James is from June 2010, when he was nearly four. He was *big* into Toy Story (he’ll still watch them with me now, sometimes) so we took him to see Toy Story 3. It was his first time at the cinema.

    Well, of course, he kept asking “is this it? Is it starting?” every time a new trailer came on LOL He was getting antsy… but then the movie started and I’ll never forget the look on his face. His jaw literally dropped as he saw his favourite characters on the big screen – much better than watching it on TV at home!

    It brought tears to my eyes. In fact, as sappy as it sounds, every time I see a movie with him at the theatre, there’s always something that brings tears to my eyes LOL

    Like

    • So sweet LOL – I can’t wait to take M to her first real movie. And her first real concert – actually to be honest, I’m looking forward to that more. She’s a big fan of Toy Story as well, though she’s not seen the 3rd one.

      Like

      • It’s pretty dark in a couple of places… we said after that, had we known, we might not have taken James but he handled it. It’s really meant for an older audience – specifically the kids who saw the first Toy Story and are now adults.

        The final scene will make you cry. Guaranteed!

        Like

      • Oh, I’ve seen it and I TOTALLY cried! LOL But yeah, we previewed it and thought t was too much for her. She expressed interest in Monsters, Inc and couldn’t even make it through the menu page…she freaked out and thought it was too scary…oh well, we’ll try again.

        Like

      • LOL 🙂 I’m trying to think what would be good for her…

        …haven’t seen Madagascar in awhile but I can tell you that #3 is pretty good…

        …as for Pixar… Brave was a little dark but I cried when I saw the little animated short that accompanied it. It was around the time of my birthday and I was learning to forgive myself, my parents and my peers for everything that happened during my childhood… and I just saw the little boy in the short film as me because he loved the stars and the Moon…

        It was a good thing the theatre was dark because I’m not sure I could explain to James why there were tears rolling down my cheeks LOL

        Like

      • Right now, the Disney Fairy movies and Finding Nemo are her speed. And I made the stupid mistake of discovering that Finding Dory will be out in 2015 while she was looking over my shoulder on the iPad. So now she asks if it is coming out soon – and I tell her not exactly because she hasn’t quite gotten the time concepts yet!

        Like

      • LOL! I didn’t know they were making Finding Dory… James is looking forward to Monsters University and Planes… he loves nearly all the Pixar movies (as do I) except for A Bug’s Life and Wall-E… he hasn’t seen Wall-E yet. I don’t think he’d be able to sit through the first thirty minutes when not a lot happens LOL

        Like

  2. I loved Wall-E. And Maya just got her first real intro (besides the amusement park) to A Bug’s Life through this book we got at the zoo the other day. She calls it “the book with the leaf on it” LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

