Change of venue

I love airports – I just want to put that out there. Maybe it’s because I took my first flight at four months old. Maybe it’s because I like hustle and bustle. Or maybe it’s because I have a crazy wanderlust that forces me out of my comfort zone when I intuitively know I need it most (though life does not allow that to happen nearly enough.)

I love all of the different kinds of people you see, coming and going. Those you might never come in contact with otherwise. The happiness, excitement, and anticipation on the faces of vacationers. The relief on the faces of those coming home from a business trip. The aggravation seeping out of those who have had their flights cancelled, their bags lost, or those who just can’t handle the stress that inevitably comes with leaving aforementioned comfort zones. I love it all.

As for me, I’m currently on my way to visit friends in the Bay Area. It’s the first solo trip I’ve taken since my little monkey was born (I know that’s crazy since since she is 3!). It’s the first solo trip I’ve taken since my “new normal.” Despite booking this trip 6 months ago for the simple reason that I literally couldn’t see having a free moment before now, I must have deep down had the foresight to know that those 6 months would be some of the toughest of my life and that a weekend in San Francisco with two of my favorites would be the perfect antidote to the perfect storm that I’ve been living lately. Change of venue, indeed.

It almost didn’t happen because I’ve been hella sick this week, but Emergen-C, ibuprofen and sleep have allowed me to be well enough to fly, to get some much needed R&R, and to spend some quality time with some oldies but goodies.

Here’s to foresight, flights, and fabulous friends…

5 comments

  1. I love to travel, even the airports. Not so much the lost / delayed bags – I have vowed never to fly American again… but airports and travel in general, yes… I like driving and I like flying. My father worked for an airline so I too have been flying from an early age – three years old, for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

