Wednesday Word of the Day – Blahliday

blahliday – blah-li-day noun 

1: a day on which one is exempt from work for a holiday that one finds less than exciting.

2: an event which one is required to “celebrate”, despite the food being crappy (or nonexistent) and it not being a joyous holiday (i.e., many Jewish holidays, especially but not limited to Passover)

I know this is totally the antithesis to my last post as to why I do celebrate Passover, but the word was too funny for me to resist. So, again, sue me.

Happy Wednesday!

4 comments

  1. Ahhhh… so you know the word then… James loves that word LOL We also like to call people muppets… especially other drivers 😛

    Actually, if you don’t mind me saying so, I’ve noticed you’ve used a few words that I’ve never (or very rarely) seen or heard in the US… like “whilst” – in fact, you’re the first person in 9 years I’ve seen use that word. So I’m thinking you’ve either spent time in New England… or you have some links to England in some way…

    Hmmm… oh it’s a mystery… it’s a mystery… I’m searchin’… for a clue…

    Like

  2. You’ve thought correctly…I’m from New York originally (born there and spent many a summer in NY and MA), and I’ve been to the UK twice (London, Bath, Oxford, the Cotswolds). Once when I was living abroad in Italy, and once on a work trip 2 lifetimes…I mean careers, ago. I quite like it there. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

