Friday Night’s Alright for Writing (#5) Presales and Encores…

Alright, I’m going to be honest, it’s been a long f-ing week.  We’re in the throes of state-testing madness at work, teenagers are being …well, teenagery (see my next Wednesday Word of the Day for a more in-depth definition), and I was audited…again. I’ve been sick (for the second time in a month – serves me right for letting M feed me ice cream at the zoo last weekend. She shared her cooties!) and I’m tired.

So it’s Friday, and I think…crap. I committed to myself to this writing thing and now I have no energy to do it. Or do I?  Yeah, I do. I’m not promising Pulitzer this time though.

Something that’s been on my mind this week is the weirdness of the music business.  As much as I love music, the business end of it I sometimes find plain ridiculous (I’m sure many musicians would agree.)  It used to be a simple, yet endearing process to get tickets to shows. You’d get up at the crack of dawn, stand outside a Tower Records, get a wristband if the band was really big. Wait your turn, pony up your cash and be handed your tickets.  Then Tower Records disappeared, so you could still go to the box office and buy tickets there, or call Ticketmaster on the rotary phone.  And then came the interwebs.  I know what you’re thinking – concerts happened BEFORE the interwebs were invented??? How old ARE you??? 37, and yes, they happened before iPhones, and presales. Which leads me to my complaint of the week. Can we please just abandon the presale BS and just sell the tickets? All the tickets? At like, one time???  This whole, if you have a Citicard, you can buy them on this date, or if you have a password from this advance purchase you can buy them on that date — this “get access to the slice of tickets we lead you to believe are more special than the general tickets that go on sale to the “public” crap is so tired.  Just sell the goddamned tickets. All of them.  First come, first served, and if you must use those annoying little characters to prevent scalpers from doing their thing then fine, I can compromise. Adults with jobs don’t have this kind of time.  Even for Depeche Mode.

And on the back-end, why do we need encores?  At least ones that are set up to be “surprises.” I get that a break is needed after playing for an hour and a half…but can we just call it the second set?  Or the third? Or the eighth (if you’re lucky enough to catch Prince live – he is a beast)?  I’m always shocked when people start to leave a show when it “ends” and the lights have yet to go up.  I do live in LA, and I guess that is akin to leaving a Dodger game in the 8th inning to beat the traffic out of the park (though I don’t understand that crap either.)  I don’t know, maybe I’m just whiny tonight.  I said I didn’t promise you a Pulitzer (or a rose garden for that matter…)

And on that note…I bid you good night.

5 comments

  1. Well I can def relate to this one!! I’m disappointed that we won’t be seeing DM, but I don’t necessarily want to pay so much money for crapy seats! xo

    Like

  2. LOL When I was a teenager in England, I can remember being on the phone for what seemed like hours trying to get tickets to see Madonna – go ahead, judge me 😛 – I got ’em though… and yes, it was worth every damn penny 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

