Friday Night’s Alright For Writing (#9) – Senioritis

It’s about that time of year folks…when all those kids who are supposed to be wrapping up their secondary education decide it’s the absolute perfect time to start screwing up.  Or slacking off.  Or getting some sort of cold feet about becoming something closer to an adult (I say that because really, they won’t be adults for another 10 years or so.) Yes, I’m speaking of that affliction called “senioritis.”  And you know what? This week I realized, I have it too.

It manifests slightly differently in adults, as opposed to teenagers though.  Since I’m a grownup, I can’t really afford to screw up at my job, so I fantasize about doing so.  I can’t really slack off, really…so I’ve found more efficient ways to do more with less effort. Somehow this makes me feel as though I’m cheating the system…even though, I’m just kind of actually doing my job better. I don’t really have cold feet about becoming MORE of an adult, but somehow I’d like to become a little less of one lately. I’m burnt.  It’s the end of the school year and I’m ready for a vacation, no matter how short (and sadly, it will be short this year.)

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to shake this mental fatigue by engaging in more physical activities, since “they” say that relieves the problem.  I started back running a bit this week (after taking nearly a month off due to the chest colds from hell), and danced my tush off at The Killers show last night. I did a yoga class tonight at home, and will take my usual every other Sunday class at InYoga  this weekend.

I’ve still got nearly two months until that vacation…so I’m hoping my plan works.  If not, well …the affliction will continue…unless you guys have any better ideas for a cure?

One comment

Leave a Reply

