I read the news today…

And for the last few days. Oh boy… I’d taken a sabbatical from reading the local news as of late…any news really.  I had realized most of it was sensationalized, sometimes approaching fiction and I wasn’t getting anything out of reading it but food for my anxiety. Eliminating news from my daily diet was actually pretty blissful.  I worried less, thought about inane things less. Had more time to do things that actually cultivated positivity. Sure I had no idea what the weather might be like the next day, but I’ve got 3 iPhone apps for that. As a teacher though, I felt like I needed to at least know a little in case my students needed to work on current events or asked questions regarding…anything.

So I started reading the news again…and lo and behold I’ve felt crappier since I started up again.  This is not a coincidence. It seems as though no one wants to report good news (other than the one usual “feel good” story buried deep in the news hour full of sadness and mayhem) because it’s less interesting to most people.  It’s easier to believe that bad things can happen because it’s a reason to complain, and misery does love company.  And, it’s like a drug.  Once you read that one terrible thing has happened, you go back for more to make sure you didn’t miss something even worse happening.

After a particularly draining day emotionally, I was cranky, and blue and off. I cried. Then I cried some more. I took a shower. And then I meditated. And I felt better.  And I decided that going forward, I’m cutting the news out of my diet again (The Daily Show with Jon Stewart doesn’t count, he says it himself).  I have to start focusing on the good again because in every day in my life, there is a lot of it.

Leave a Reply

