30 Days of Thanks – 2013 – Day 1

I don’t know how it got to be November of this year already.  Sometimes I feel like my life moves at warp speed now…I feel like I was warned about this phenomenon earlier in life…that it would start to move fast when I had my own child…and it’s true.

Anyways, given that it is November 1, and I really got a lot out of doing it last year, I wanted to do my version of a “thankful challenge” this month. The basic premise is, you take the days in November up until or through Thanksgiving to share what you’re thankful for with your friends and family (or readers, in this case.) There are a few challenges going around Facebook and one on Instagram, but I’m choosing to do it via my blog. So without further adieu…

Today I am thankful for my health, but more specifically my mental health.  With the events at LAX today, I was reminded that not everyone can handle the difficulties thrown at them in life (whether they be real, perceived or even imagined.)  Moreover, not everyone is willing to or can get the help they need to cope with whatever struggles they face.

Last year at this time, I was a mess emotionally.  My marriage was imploding, and I was anxiety-ridden. I had no idea what the future would bring, the only thing I sensed was life was about to be turned upside down. I wanted help, and was able to get it – via family support, professional help, and a little magic pill called Buspar. Today, I am worlds better, still healing, but on the whole, a happy woman. And for that, I am grateful.

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

