30 Days of Thanks – 2013 – Day 4

Today I am thankful for the amicable nature of the relationship I have with my now ex-husband.  Since today would have been our anniversary, it’s been on my mind…and for what it’s worth, this is the best I’ve felt we’ve gotten along in a long time. Though the divorce has only been final for a little under a month, we’ve been living apart for 9 months and have been separated nearly a year.  To no one’s surprise I’m sure, it was incredibly strained at first.  We put on happy faces for our little girl, and pretty much faked it until we made it to the other side.  While we’re not exactly the best of friends, we’re definitely friendly and courteous towards each other, which is more than I can say for either of us last year at this time.  We both listen more and give more than we did last year as well.

More than anything, I think we’ve managed to figure out a way to co-parent Maya that has resulted in her still being a happy, healthy little girl.  The marriage may have crumbled, but the union produced and is maintaining a stellar little human.  And for that, I am grateful.

3 comments

  1. I didn’t realize you were divorced Joy. I can only imagine how heartwrenching and scary that must have been to go through, both leading up to the divorce and the divorce itself. As in most marriages, when things get crazy difficult it’s come up a time or two and now that we’ve got a kiddo too it sends me into a panic to think about the logistics of it all. I commend you for having the strength to go through it (even if you may not have felt like you did at the time) and to continue showing Maya that mommy and daddy can still get alone even when they don’t live together (and for being a rockin single momma!). 🙂

    Like

  2. Right now, things are a little frosty between me and my ex… but we were in a pretty good place. It’s obviously best for the children for both parents to get along, and although things could be better, we are at least civil and courteous with one another. I’m pretty sure this frost won’t last forever and things will get back to being more positive. I’m glad you’re both in a good place! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

