Reflections and Unresolutions

It’s already 2014 in more than half the world…I just got my first New Year‘s kiss of the day for the English New Year…I’ll get another for New York’s turn…and probably be asleep by Midnight on the West Coast.

Just a few thoughts and musings for today…

I’m so glad I get to spend NYE with Richard and no one else.  A quiet dinner and a movie at home.  This is a vast improvement over last year, at which point I declared – “This sucks… I am going to have someone good to kiss by next NYE if it’s the last thing I do.”  And I do. Win! (I had recently filed for divorce and I stayed home last year with my mom, stepdad and Maya.  Maya’s dad was out …at my asking, as we were still living together…but where he ended up and how he ended up there honestly couldn’t have done more to contribute to the fact that I felt lonelier than ever.  No offense to my family and Maya, they party like rock stars xo)

I am grateful for a happier and healthier relationship with said ex. I am grateful for Maya’s health and resilience and look forward to watching her grow this year.  That being said, I’m also grateful for my own resilience as 2013 was only slightly less of a bitch than 2012.  Not sorry to see it go.

And for my “un” – resolutions?

  • I don’t resolve to maintain relationships that no longer serve me.
  • I don’t resolve to stuff my face like I won’t eat ever again.
  • I don’t resolve to make excuses as to why I can’t exercise.
  • I don’t resolve to give more time to my work than I do to myself or the ones I love.

I’m hoping the reverse psychology works 🙂 Onwards, and upwards…

That’s a wrap folks – I wish you all a healthy, happy, peaceful 2014.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

