Creativity…unleashed?

Sometimes I get a bug up my butt to be creative, in all areas of my life all at once. Okay maybe just one or two…and sometimes it seems like too much.  Like for instance, in the last month I signed up for two online courses in order to spark my creativity.  One of them was/is through the Canvas Network, which is an organization I got an email from randomly (or maybe not so random and I clicked on something I don’t remember). That one is about the 5 Habits of Highly Creative Teachers. I was drawn to it, it was online and it was free, so I clicked enroll. The other was one that I found in my WordPress Reader, called Writing 101, from a blog called the Daily Post and it’s all about encouraging a daily blogging habit – one that I’ve been trying to develop forever and a day (quite the opposite of all of the bad habits I’ve been trying to snuff out for the same amount of time.)

Both of these courses started today, and I figured since I have half of the month of June off, it would be a good time to experiment with a few classes.  This is not the half of the month I have off.  Also, given that my school ‘s graduation is tomorrow, I have a performance on Friday to prepare for which means I’ll be home late the next three nights, I’m wondering if I’ve bit off more than I can chew. Well…I suppose you can ask me about it on Friday night when I pass out at 8p.  Good thing we just replenished our coffee supply.

In reality, I think taking these two classes at once is quite serendipitous.  One is to encourage creativity, and the other is to encourage one of my favorite outlets to that creativity.

One of the investigations happening in the first course is in regards to finding the barriers and motivators to creativity.  Participants have been asked to either brainstorm or time travel, and since I love travel of any kind (especially time) I chose the 2nd option.  I think I’ve always been a curious person…my mother will attest that I asked a million questions about a million different topics.  This has been revisited upon me in the form of a 4.5 year old questioner named Maya.  What got in the way then and now is…ironically, time.  I think I am curious about so many things that I never get as in-depth as I want to on any one topic and I feel often that I will run out of time and therefore have to only give limited time to my explorations.  I have many things that interest me, and will explore to a point, but then something else catches my fancy (squirrel!) and I’m off to the next thing.

I think I need to be more organized in my creativity at times, but I’ve always been loathe to use things like graphic organizers, etc.  Perhaps, I’ve been resistant to the things that might help me the most? That wouldn’t surprise me. I’m also terrible at taking my own advice – what I give to my students all the time, which is don’t spread yourself too thin, and give yourself structure…focus on a few things until you complete them and make a plan. Perhaps I’m just a rebel.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

