Put it in your brain Mom!

“What was that?” I asked Maya.

“I said put it in your brain Mom, right here,” she said, vigorously pointing to her little forehead with her pumpkin-colored fingernail. “Right here, like this.” And then she took her whole hand and smacked her head as if she was experiencing salvation.  Pretty deep for a 4-year old.

You forgot my tiara?? Put it in your brain Mom!

This is what she tells me when she wants me to remember something. Like putting a chocolate chip granola bar in her lunch. Or giving over her “car buddies” Ellie and plastic Spongebob before we get going in the morning.  Or what kind of Elsa doll she wants for the next “special occasion.” Or to remind me that she is a “kid, not an adult Mom, I can’t go fast” when I rush her to get ready in the morning. That last one stung.

I have reminders on my phone, in my calendar, in my email…and sometimes on days like today when I felt like a wandering nomad at work, no amount of reminders can help me remember what I said 10 minutes ago, or what I need to do before I leave work for the day.

If only smacking myself in the head actually worked, I’d be golden. For now, a little meditation, acceptance, and a good night’s sleep will have to do.

Ooohh, while it’s in MY brain, if you didn’t get a chance to catch my guest post on Lessons From the End of a Marriage, click here to check it out. Please put it in your brain, lovely readers!  Just don’t smack yourself too hard 🙂

4 comments

Leave a Reply

