Reflections on …biting off more than I can wrap my mouth around.

So when I was a little chickadee, I used to love this show called China Beach. Actually I still love it…it aired on ABC from April 1988 to July 1991 and focused on the Vietnam War, with which I’ve always had a fascination.  The main character was a nurse played by Dana Delany, and it followed the story of several different characters, some military, some civilian, all unique.  One of those actors who played one of those quirky characters is now my neighbor (okay, he lives in my neighborhood, close enough.)  I often see him walking his dog…well, I did until he made it on to The Walking Dead, and until I stopped jogging around. I get a total kick out of this. Anyway, you get my point. I loved many things about this show, one in particular being the theme song by Diana Ross called Reflections – click here to have a listen.

As I peer through the window
Of lost time
Looking over my yesterdays

It’s really not the same unless you see me sing it, but I’m not yet willing to record myself on video doing that so you’ll have to take my word for it.

Anyway, it brings me to my topic of discussion for today which is my reflection on biting off more than I can chew when it comes to my continuing education.  Over the last month, I decided to sign up for two online classes and for the most part thoroughly enjoyed them both. One was the Writing 101 class, and the other was 5 Habits of Highly Creative Teachers.  I wasn’t sure of the workload for either but figured since I had two weeks off during that time, I’d work it out. Well…I did so for the writing class, but not for the 5 Habits class…because I was too busy being Highly Creative in the other one!  There is an irony here that is not lost on me.  I need to learn to do just one thing at a time. Of course, I’ve already signed up for two other courses that are online and will overlap, so I haven’t learned my lesson quite yet. I did manage to save some of the assignments to complete later, because although I could not complete them in the time allotted, I still found them valuable. I learned that I can be quite creative when I want to, and I do want to. I’ve also learned that creating a daily habit of being creative (like my 20 minutes of writing a day..okay, most days) can go a long way.

I think it’s part of that element of play that we have as a child that we lose slowly as adults due to …well…life.  But I’ve cut certain things out that now allow me to engage more often in my favorite form of play …which is writing.

What’s your favorite form of play?

2 comments

    • Ha! It’s funny you mention Netflix. I was telling my bf about the show and he’d never seen it, so he looked for it on Netflix and saved it. The other day it popped up as available….and then just as we were about to get it, they took it off again. So he moved it down the queue and then it said very long wait again…so I think it might actually be available now, just not in great supply! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

