Not-so-boring Tuna Salad

I’ve been eating the chicken of the sea since I was a little girl. Sometimes I would go through phases where that would be ALL I ate.  Then I went through a period where I couldn’t stand it because I had eaten nothing but that for months. Today, I’m in the middle ground – I don’t eat it all the time, but I do like it quite a bit. It’s simple to throw together and it has the magic ingredient that keeps me full, and prevents me from shoving sugar in my face – protein! The thing I know for sure is I don’t like it to be boring. Here’s the way I like to make mine:

 

(2) 7 ounce cans chunk light tuna packed in water, drained

4 tablespoons of organic mayonnaise, approximately  (I like the kind from Trader Joe’s)

2 teaspoons of curry powder (more if you’re into it like I am – this is the KEY to less boring tuna!)

Pink Himalayan salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

1/2 medium onion, diced finely (if you’re feeling lazy, a smattering of onion powder will do)

2 hardboiled eggs, peeled and chopped (optional, but makes it so much yummier)

4 slices of whole-grain bread or whole-grain pita (I love Milton’s bread and Trader Joe’s pita)

 

Flake up the drained tuna in a medium-sized bowl until it’s a consistency that you like to eat.  Throw in the diced onion (or powder), salt, pepper and curry powder.  Mix until the salt and spices are well-distributed.  Then, add in your hardboiled egg if you’re using it, and then the mayo slowly. You may find you need less mayo because the egg has rendered your tuna mixture nice and creamy already.

Chill in the fridge for 10 minutes while you pop a few pieces of whole grain bread or pita in the toaster, whatever your tuna holder of choice may be.

Scoop some tuna into/onto your holder when it’s ready and crunch your way to a full belly.

Let me know if you try it – and if you like it!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

