Extracting the truth

I rolled the tiny glass vial slowly between my thumb and forefinger. I wondered whose lips the rose-colored serum would cross…there was only enough for one person’s truth besides my own.  What did I want to know?  My lover’s intentions? No. Those were better revealed in another manner.  Maybe the better question was who did I want to know — my father? My mother…or sister? My daughter? Yes. Her.

She wouldn’t be too hard to convince.  She loves the color pink – and I’ll tell her it’s a vial fit for a princess or fairy.  She’ll think it’s fun and her answers will give me some insight into her latest personality quirks. Why was she so angry lately? So unstable? Was it a delayed reaction to her dad and I splitting up? Does she need some mommy time? Is she being bullied at school? She’ll give me the truth. I can handle it.

“Sweet pea, come here, Mommy has a special treat for you,” I say.

“What is it?” she replies.

“It’s called truth serum. It’s a sweet bit of liquid that makes it so you can’t fib…and Mommy has some questions for you. All the princesses and fairies are doing it. Will you drink it?”

“I dunno. That’s kinda crazy. You’re bonkers, Mommy!”

“All the best people are – don’t you remember watching Alice in Wonderland?” I asked.

She chuckled uncomfortably.  “No Mommy, I never watched that. Will it taste yucky? You know I don’t like yucky things.”

Maybe this wasn’t such a good idea. She might not like it, she might have a bad reaction.  I might have a bad reaction to what she says. I have no idea what I’m doing, do I? And there’s the rub…yet I continue.

“It tastes like strawberry, sweetie.  Your favorite, I’m sure you’ll like it!”

She looked at me funny, sensing my hesitance and all at once, I felt false, guilty. Like a perpetrator, instead of a mother. This was not the way. I took the vial and put it away for another time, another place, maybe – no, definitely, another person.  She could read me, and deep down, I knew I could read her.  No serum could replace a mother’s intuition.

“Never mind, my little monkey. You just told me all I needed to know.”

“But I didn’t tell you anything! Mommy, you’re so bonkers. That doesn’t make any sense.”

“Life rarely does my love.  But you know what?  I’m just going to let it unfold and see where it takes us. That’s the only truth I need today.”

Note: This is a response to Truth Serum, the Sept. 30 Daily Prompt from The Daily Post – You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?

As part of Blogging 101, we were to respond to the prompt and post about it. This is my offering.  

3 comments

Leave a Reply

