In Search of the Perfect Meatball

"Spaghetti with Meatballs 01 (5076300327)" by TheCulinaryGeek from Chicago, USA - Spaghetti with Meatballs 01Uploaded by the wub. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Spaghetti_with_Meatballs_01_(5076300327).jpg#mediaviewer/File:Spaghetti_with_Meatballs_01_(5076300327).jpg

Inspiration can come from the strangest of places. I was watching some idiot box with the little monkey the other day and the show of choice was Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.  It’s a land of make-believe, and we were riding along with Daniel and all of his friends, watching the episode where they help their teacher grow veggies in the garden and she encourages them to eat new things.

I was happy to watch this since much of what my child eats involves only dairy or pasta/bread product and fruit, with the rare appearance of a green “tree” that we adults call broccoli.  I choose not to make this a daily struggle because as a child I was very much the same and eventually grew to try most everything and eat most everything. But I’ll take any help I can get. Anyway, back to my point, about the inspiration for today’s post.

Part of this show, (which by the way is from the same family as Mr. Rogers – love that guy!) is a “live action” piece of a kid watching someone else cook meatballs in a pan of hot olive oil.  I’m pretty sure I started to drool and immediately wanted said meatballs for dinner. Of course, I didn’t actually have any meat in the house with which to make them because I don’t generally cook red meat. I’m not fond of the smell it leaves hanging in the air forever afterwards and I try not to eat it very often for health reasons. This does not mean I never eat it though…in fact a few days ago, we went to a local Italian restaurant to help raise funds for school and I ordered vermicelli with meatballs.  It was good – not great, but good.  And there was only one giant ball, when I was craving a few smaller, more…crafty ones.  Cravings have not subsided.

The interwebs gave me a few good recipes that I would like to try, which you’ll find below – but I want to know, what’s your favorite way to make them?

Italian Herb Baked Meatballs

Nonnie Rosie’s Fried Italian Meatballs

Meatballs with Parsley and Parmesan

 

Leave a Reply

