I’ll be taking leave of my senses…and I want you to as well!

But just for the month of November 🙂 As we head into the 11th month, I wanted to write a little bit about what I’ll be doing during that time at home and here on my blog.

For the last two years during the month that holds my most favorite of holidays (gobble, gobble! or really…side dish! side dish!), I’ve participated in the 30 Days of Thanks Challenge.  There are versions of this on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr and I’m sure other forms of social media…but if you’re unfamiliar, the premise is this — share something you are grateful for every day during the month of November.  It can be something big or small, silly or profound, as long as you are expressing gratitude.

I’ll be doing this again this year with the little monkey, and I’ll be sharing here on the blog.  Regularly scheduled sensory posts will resume December 3.

The other thing I wanted to mention is something I did last year that worked really well – using November as a natural time for clearing out gently used and outgrown toys and books.  I had Maya pick a toy a day that she no longer played with (and one that needed to go in the trash from repeated use) and we collected them to give to Goodwill and to our temple for kids who could use them.  We did something similar with the books, in terms of things that were no longer age-appropriate for her.

It feels really good to donate, to purge the house of clutter, and to prepare for the onslaught of the holidays this way.

I’d love it if you’d join me on the journey!

30DaysofThankslogo

 

7 comments

Leave a Reply

