What’s outside reflects what’s within – right now, that’s clutter.

They (you know, those experts that know everything) say that your outer life reflects your inner life. When I separated from my ex and he moved out, I did quite a bit of decluttering. It was liberating in more ways than one. I looked around today and thought – jeez, I have way too much stuff, still. It’s been about a year and a half since then, and I feel like things have piled up again.  Literally and figuratively. I’ve put a bit of weight back on and the paper piles around me have grown to a point that makes me uncomfortable. Not that I’m terribly bothered by the visual of the extra pounds or the extra piles, but like my pants, the papers and random bits on my desk are no longer fitting and I’m uncomfortable. My body and my desk are cluttered a bit.

I need her - where is she??
I need her – where is she??

And then I remembered, that I’m ahead of myself. I’ve already planned to work in donations to charity in my 30 Days of Thanks challenge.  I had planned on going through the little monkey’s toys with her when she gets back from her Dad’s (and likely  doing this without her as well) to purge things that we no longer need or use.  I decided today I’ll be doing this for myself as well.  I’ve already put one item for today of mine in the donations bag, given a shirt that is too small for me a new home in Maya’s drawers and will spend 10 minutes cleaning my desk off today.

I said I was taking leave of my senses to take part in the 30 Days of Thanks challenge, and what I’m realizing now is that doing those posts made me focus solely on that to a certain extent (and well, a small handful of other things.) Now that I’m not doing those, I’ve had all of these other ideas pop up in my head for things to write, and business to take care of for my blog. The synapses are firing, the caffeine is active and I’m thinking I need to meditate. My mind is cluttered a bit.

My focus on the senses with has been overwhelmingly positive for me, but also allowed for some clutter to build up mentally.  Good thing I scheduled a break! I’ll be taking this month to not only be grateful, but purge some of the other things that have taken up space in the creative recesses of my mind.

It’s interesting what happens when you change up your routine. I like that. And, when I get to share some of those other ideas with you, hopefully you will too.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

 

 

9 comments

  1. Hi Joy, I hadn’t heard about the 30 days of thanks either, but then I’m new to the blogging world. I took on decluttering in September. Yikes. It is a challenge but there is hope when we see the progress we’ve made, right?
    Nice blog!
    Cindi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

