It’s finally cold enough…crock pot me!

I’m one of those people who has to eat foods in season, and I’m not talking about strawberries in the summertime (though I mean that as well.) I rarely eat ice cream when it’s not hot out, and I only really feel the need to get the crock pot out when the temperatures drop.  Stews and soups and other things cooked slowly taste best when I can see my breath as I walk out the door.

I wanted to share a new favorite recipe that came to my kitchen from Gimme Some Oven. It was incredibly simple to make, the house smelled incredible once it got going, and…it has Guinness in it! Now I’m not a huge beer drinker, but if I’m going to drink Guinness is usually it. Well that plus a little Tan…or fruity cider…okay, maybe I like the drink a little more than I think.

What You Need:

1 tbsp.paprika
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. freshly cracked black pepper (Ever wonder how you figure out how many turns of the pepper grinder 1/2 tsp. is?…Ask THIS guy. He figured it out for you – so he’s automatically awesome. If you don’t care too much, just season to taste)
4 lb. boneless pork loin
1 large onion, sliced as thinly as you can (recipe called for white, but all I had was yellow)
1 bottle Guinness, extra-stout

What You Do:

Put one of these liners in your crock pot – they save cleaning time like nobody’s business. Make a rub out of the spices and massage it into your pork loin. Set the pork aside. Throw the onions into the liner and make a nice, comfy bed out of them, as your pork will be asleep there for about 10 hours. Next, put your pork to bed.  Give it a nice drink of Guinness.  The whole bottle.  Put a lid on it. Set it and forget it…until it’s done (10-12 hours, it needs its beauty rest.)

Pig in beer.
Pig in beer. Ignore the honey in the background.

We made sandwiches from little slider buns – I suspect the pork would also go well on mini-corn tortillas, or King’s Hawaiian rolls. A little mayo, mustard, and you have heaven in your mouth.

I'm so faaaancy, I eat on paper plaaates.
I’m so faaaancy, I eat on paper plaaates (yep, you have Iggy in your head too now.)
Original recipe can be found at Gimme Some Oven.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

