Say Goodbye to the Last Manic Monday of 2014

As the holiday season comes to a close, it dawned on me that after today, the next time we see a Monday it will be a new calendar year. Whereas in years past, I’d have had my plans for the evening laid out weeks in advance, this year, I haven’t much thought about it. I think that means I’m closer to always living in the moment, but I know I’m not nearly where I would like to be in that respect. Regardless, now is the perfect time for life review and goal-setting, if you’re into that, right?  I took the time today to meditate on the past year, my current state and how those two are related, to see how I made it in keeping my “unresolutions” from last year, as well as to reflect on my accomplishments and remind myself how far I’ve come.

I started off by doing something yesterday that I haven’t done in a long while – catch up on reading some of my favorite blogs! It’s one of the best parts of being a member of the blogging community and it’s been far too long since I’ve done much reading on a regular basis.  I came across three posts that inspired me to write today in my quest for reflection:

One from Robin over at begin to believe–who upon getting down on herself, created a list of the things she had done for herself and others over the course of the year, and realized she is fabulous.

Another from Kat over at Dandelion Fuzz–who wrote a post about resolutions and goals and asked us all to take part in her Kat Got Your Tongue Challenge. katgotyourtongueShe asks, do we do/make them? Do we like them? Do we want to share them?

The last, from my friend Kristen over at Bag Lady Lulu – who wrote about the one word she chose to guide her year ahead.

I find this exercise even more important today because while I took the last few days off from blogging for a much-needed break, I was reminded of something very quickly. Writing has a huge impact on reducing my anxiety and I needed to get back to it post-haste. So here I am!

As far as reflections go on the past year, while this week I have ranted a bit (offline), when I think about it, what I’ve done and the possibilities, it’s really been dynamic and overwhelmingly positive.

I’m in a healthy, loving relationship with the Man. I have great kids in my life, including my own sweet and sassy, the Man’s young lad, my nephew and my students.  I have wonderful family, friends and co-workers. I contribute positively to all of these on a daily basis, whether it be with direct contact, emails, texts, or virtual vibes of support. I wrote a book–a book! A book about using  journaling and gratitude to ease anxiety and promote a positive outlook. I blogged more this year than any other and it’s slowly turning into what I really want it and need it to be for myself and for others. I’ve walked for my health, and rededicated myself to a weekly yoga practice (thank G-d for Wed. night classes!). I’ve done all this while being a newly divorced parent. Speaking of which, I’ve managed to co-parent with only a few bumpy spots in the road.  The daughter we are raising together, but separately is healthy, smart, well-adjusted (so far…) and I couldn’t be more grateful for that. I don’t get road rage anymore. I mostly don’t get angry over things I can’t control.  This is an improvement.  I have more than enough of everything to share and that is really everything.

How did I do on my unresolutions from last year? Let’s see…

  • I don’t resolve to maintain relationships that no longer serve me. Personally, yes. Professionally, I’m working on it.
  • I don’t resolve to stuff my face like I won’t eat ever again. Not a good question to ask after Christmas. For the most part, yes.
  • I don’t resolve to make excuses as to why I can’t exercise. Mostly, yes.
  • I don’t resolve to give more time to my work than I do to myself or the ones I love. Here, I mostly won big. I was very adamant and it worked. Mostly.

So to answer Kat’s question, I really don’t like resolutions.  I have goals but they aren’t related to the new year…and I’ll tell you a few of the writing ones now that are all related to my word for 2015 which is:

Freedom

chain-297842_1280

Da da da dahhhhh!

When I saw Kristen’s post and Kat’s I thought to myself, I have ZERO idea as to what my word could even be at all. Then later, when I was reading another blog on the same topic (because I suddenly had a desire to learn as much about this idea as I could,) it came to me. Freedom. I want everything I do next year to contribute to increasing the freedom I have to do the things that are right for me and my family. The freedom to be who I am, to do what I am good at, and to provide for my family.

So, in keeping with that – this blog will be getting a bit of a revamp over the next few months…nothing drastic, just …tightening. My editorial calendar is changing a bit, so keep your eye out for that. I’ll also be putting out an e-version of sorts of my paperback and working another non-blog related writing project. The goal is to put at least 2 books out next year.

So that’s a wrap folks. See you on the flip side…and have a happy, healthy 2015!

 

12 comments

  1. I was really touched to find myself in your post. 🙂 I think it’s great to be able to look back and feel that you accomplished what you set out to do.

    This word for the year concept has grabbed me and won’t let go. I look forward to seeing how “Freedom” works for you this year and where it leads you.

    (And thanks for responding to Kat Got Your Tongue Challenge! It encourages me to get working on the word and goals so I can move forward.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

