Cookbook Review: Thug Kitchen

Thug Kitchen CoverThug Kitchen: The Official Cookbook: Eat Like You Give a F*ck (Originally posted on Goodreads.com)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
The only thing more amusing than this cookbook was reading the reviews that complained about profanity and the book being racist. Good grief people. First of all, the word f*ck is in the title, so did we think this was going to be a storybook appropriate for the children? Nope. If you did think that, then perhaps your observation skills are in need of a little tune-up. And as far as it being racist because they call it “Thug” Kitchen, thugs can be any color or creed – it usually refers to people who feel they have never had it good their entire lives and resort to criminal activity to deal with it or to get what they feel is “theirs.” I don’t know where you live, but where I do, that is related to a mentality and not a color.

It’s a metaphor folks – the book seems to be written for those who feel they’ve probably never eaten well in their entire life and have resorted to criminal food activity (i.e., continuing to eat fast food, eating standing up, not taking their time to eat or to cook) – and who have an unending love for the word f*ck in all its many forms. I generally fall into that latter category. I’ve read through the whole cookbook, chuckled quite a few times and have dog-eared pages that I want to try. I ‘ve already made the Maple Berry Grits because I had some leftover dry grits from Thanksgiving that I needed to use, plus a jar of cranberry relish from Trader Joe’s that I thought might go well on top. Well, it was easy, tasty, and held up well in the fridge. Plus, I was totally right about the cranberry relish. To reheat, I just added a bit more almond milk and it was delish. I’m looking forward to experimenting more with the recipes.

View all my reviews

4 comments

Leave a Reply

