39 is…

the atomic number of Yttrium.  It is often termed as a rare earth element and can be used to make phosphors, or things that have the quality of luminescence. Luminescence — that is such a beautiful word, appropriate as it means to give off light, a quality I hope to have. It is soft and silver, like the color of my hair when I don’t go to the salon, yet is used to make the red color in LED TVs…red being the color my hair sometimes turns into when I do go to the salon.

…also the number of a Messier Deep-sky object – one located in Cygnus. The Man tells me I’ll have to wait until summer to see it.  It’s also apparently the number of a spiral galaxy in the constellation of Andromeda. I haven’t asked him about this one yet, but I will.

…the number of types of activities prohibited on Shabbat, or the Jewish sabbath. I appreciate the need for rest from “work,” especially now, but I’m comfortable not adhering strictly to these rules.

…the number of steps in the title of a famous Alfred Hitchcock film that I’ve never seen, but that I will and soon.

…the code for international direct-dialed phone calls to Italy – a country I will return to sometime in the next 2 years. It’s in the universe now – just need to let it happen.

…the number of a Pier in San Francisco, one I’ve been to, and one I hope to visit again sometime this year.

…the number, according to the best source of information on the internet (tongue, I hope you are comfortable in cheek), that is cursed in Afghanistan, as it is associated with ladies of the night.

…one less than 40.  The age I will be a lot sooner than “Someday!” a la’ Sally from my favorite movie with Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan.

nothing… but the number of candles on my birthday cake today.  38 was great, and I’m sure 39 will be fine.

Happy Birthday to me and Happy Tuesday to you!

39 is...

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

