F is for Frittata

Coming off a a giant Passeaster/Eastover feast, I’m consumed with thoughts of one food – eggs.  I was going to do this for the letter “E” however, I thought it best to push past my first thought, since my theme is that of exploration, and settled on frittata for the letter “F.” In case you don’t know what they are, they look like this:

Frittata
An Easter Frittata from Italy

It’s a crustless Quiche of sorts, made of egg and additional ingredients to make it interesting.  Some people compare it to an omelette or a scramble, but since these are finished off in the oven, I would say are a bit more complicated…and more delicious.

I’ve made a few in my time, namely a Spanish variety that actually goes by the name of tortilla de patatas, made with eggs and potato, and a few other I can’t remember because I’m getting to be that age (let’s face it, I think I’ve always been that age!)

Since eggs are such a high-quality protein, relatively inexpensive, and I’m already eating them several times a week, I want to find a few ways I can sneak other things into my eggs that make them more interesting. Perhaps make a more complete meal by adding veggies, and not just two slices of toast and bacon (yes, that is what usually happens…no wonder my pants don’t fit).

I did a quick search for a few recipes I want to try –

 

Alton Brown’s Fritatta – because he highlights the science in cooking, and is fascinating to watch

The Pioneer Woman’s Sunday Fritatta – because everything she makes is delicious, and this is a good way not to let food go to waste

Food Network Kitchens Spinach and Feta Fritatta – because I just bought some feta and I’m dying to put it in something other than a salad

 

Do you have any fritatta recipes you want to share? I consider this my own personal egg hunt 🙂

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

 

4 comments

    • 5 days a week? And this is coming from a dietician… I am sold! I hope my family doesn’t get sick of me making them and doesn’t listen to all the noise about there being too much cholesterol in the yolks…thank you for reading and commenting!

      Like

      • This is true – I eat butter as well, or ironically a vegan organic alternative that doesn’t have anything terribly nasty in it. I will have to check out your site – thanks for the link! I don’t know if I can give up the bacon…my boyfriend wants us to plant it, as if that were possible- silly man. If only it could grow on my balcony!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

