G is for Gardening

One can probably tell from my recent photo challenges of late that I am a bit obsessed with flowers. So it’s no surprise really that “G” would be for gardening.  I find it calming, relatively easy (especially since I mostly don’t know what I am doing) and there has been a nice pay-off so far. I have daisies and nearly year-old zinnias growing on my back balcony along with some windowsill herbs, rosemary and a succulent.

What might be surprising is that I would like to plant more food, despite living in a second-floor apartment with a balcony that faces West.  The little monkey and I seeded some strawberries yesterday and I’ve got these little babies that need to be put in some sort of raised bed:

Things to plant

 

I know, I know, I couldn’t resist throwing a few flowers into the mix.  What I really would like to explore though is the best way to irrigate my apartment garden without contributing to the drought.

Any other apartment gardeners willing to share their ideas?  I’m eager to listen 🙂

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1. To see what I might usually post on a Wednesday, go HERE.

7 comments

  1. We grew hot peppers (even some habaneros) and bell peppers from the seeds we recovered in the peppers we had bought on the outside windowsill of our 5th floor Parisian apartment. Some pepper plants are really great for balcony gardening, I do not recommend bell peppers as they need so much energy and nutrition and well habaneros do need more heat then we had…
    Have fun with gardening! And the A to Z challenge! Growing your own food is even more rewarding than cooking your own food.

    Like

    • Pepper plants are aesthetically pleasing as well…but no one in my family eats them…bell peppers yes, but no one is much for heat here. Thank you for stopping by to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are welcome. Try to sowing the seeds you have in the vegetables, they often do grow. Fruit trees are a bit slow, I have a lot of mini grapefruit trees at home (one seed contains 3 trees) but they take 10 years or more to have fruit.

        Like

Leave a Reply

