H is for Highly Sensitive

HSometimes, my brain gets overwhelmed and I don’t know which way is up. Today is one of those days, and given the last few weeks (months? I’ve lost track) of running around with work, extra work, and regular every day life, I’m not really surprised. The A to Z challenge isn’t necessarily helping with this, as I thought I would need to be writing for the letter “I” tonight in my head, and instead, I am not quite there, and still need to do “H.”  This is even with having the posts for the next 7 days or so laid out clearly on my WordPress calendar. Oy.

I’m glad I still needed to do this one though, as for this letter of the alphabet, I chose the concept of high sensitivity.  If  you’ve never heard this term, I’ve written about it a bit before today here and here in reference to myself and the little monkey. There are also a few blogs that I follow by Melene McAlmont, and Leila Boukarim that focus on this subject. For me, I am more sensitive to others’ moods and tend to absorb the energy of the people around me, along with being very sensitive to sound and smell. My daughter is very perceptive when it comes to reading others, even at 5 and always has been, as well as being extremely sensitive to sound and touch.  Things that you would never think would bother anyone, bother her. Things that the average person would never gather from the clues right in front of them, I’m able to sense without delving further…though that only confirms my original feeling. There are incredible benefits to being this way, but there are also drawbacks, including difficulties in explaining these things to others, and taking the time needed to recharge from over-stimulation.   If you want to read more about this subject, you can start here at Elaine Aron’s website

In the last 3 weeks or so I’d say both the little monkey and myself have been particularly sensitive due to various stressors and it has been difficult. So I’m actually thankful for this challenge as it has reminded me that I need to explore the resources on the subject, so that I can help her and myself cope better with the insensitive nature of this thing we call life.

Do any of you identify as a highly sensitive folks? I’d be curious to see how many other bloggers are part of this particular tribe 🙂

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1. To see what I might usually post on a Thursday, go HERE.

 

16 comments

  1. It makes me very happy that you found my blog useful. Thank you so much for he mention!

    I, as you know, am Highly Sensitive, and yes, it can such a wonderful thing allowing you to experience life more deeply, but at times it can also be overwhelming, almost paralyzingly so. It’s always nice to know there are others out there who “get it”, people who understand that we’re not exaggerating or being dramatic. Thank goodness for that Elaine Aron and her work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I identify with this. I often feel over-stimulated. I can only listen to music for so long before I have to take a break and enjoy the silence. And I hate parties! 10 minutes in and the stimuli overwhelm me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m not a big party person either and sometimes people don’t understand why I can’t have a lot of people (lot meaning more than 10) at my place…it’s my sanctuary and if it is overrun I am overwhelmed. Same thing with my daughter…not a fan of big parties…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I never thought of myself as highly sensitive but I am highly intuitive. After reading your post, I do absorb the energy of others at times but usually my intuition kicks in before too much of that can happen. This is an interesting topic. I will have to look into more. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not highly sensitive but yes, too much noise, crowds, parties – just frazzles me! And while I can sense other people’s feelings and energies, I’ve kinda learnt to not absorb it – works some times only though. Absorbing others’ energies is exhausting and I don’t like that.

    I’m glad you wrote about this. Feels good to know there are others who understand. Thanks for the links – need to see more about this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

