L is for Lifehacks

I’m sure you know her.  You might envy her, you might admire her. Perhaps a little bit of both…but you certainly don’t know how she does it. Well – maybe she’s Hermione Granger in disguise.

Time turner??

She’s the mom who manages to get three kids to school effortlessly, on time, while looking like she got up two hours early to look like she feels good about herself (except she didn’t). Then she works a full day, gets home, cooks a home-made meal, exercises, spends time with her husband, gets a little me time (reading, farting around on Facebook or whatever pleases her) and then goes to bed to get her 6-8 hours of beauty sleep, depending upon her own personal needs.

I’m sure you know him.  You might envy him, you might admire him — perhaps a little bit of both…and you can’t figure out how he does it either.

He’s the dad who finds the time to go to the gym at 5 in the morning, before working all-day, picking his three kids up from school, getting them home to help them with homework, washing dishes, and throwing in a load of laundry, spending time with his wife, reading his favorite novel and then goes to bed to do it all over again the next day.

These two aren’t miracle workers.  They aren’t aliens, or superhumans.  They are lifehack geniuses.  They are the people who make you say, “Crap, why didn’t I think of that??”

As for me, I manage to get my one kid to school, on time, with effort, on the days that she is with me. Sometimes it’s quite a bit of effort.  I get up early so I can be clean, but that doesn’t include makeup or a fancy hair-do, though I do manage to put on some jewelry daily.  I work a full day, sometimes cook, sometimes exercise, spend time with the Man, write, and go to bed so I can get 3/4 of my needed daily sleep during the weekdays.

There are lists and lists of these things, but sometimes they aren’t the most useful.

The thing I want to explore most is how to hack more time out of my day…

So, what I want to know is this – are you one of those geniuses and if you are, what’s your favorite hack?

 

2 comments

    • LOL I have those too, and I agress some of those make life more difficult. I think I need to think hard on it and make a good list of my own. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

