O is for Om (or Aum)

Aum (Om) Symbol

 

Yesterday while I was repeating Week Three of C25K jogging, I was thinking about what I was going to do for “O.” Oaxaca, obsidian, occipital lobe, odometer – none of these were inspiring to me – but as I continued to go through the alphabet (yes, I’m weird like that) and as my calves started to ache, it came to me.

Ommmmmmmmmm….

The beautiful communal sound I hear and feel at the end of my yoga classes.  The sound I sometimes hear when I chant during meditation. The sound that soothes my nerves.

As my calves (the right one in particular) were crying about having to jog for a whole three minutes, I thought to myself, I could be doing yoga right now! I’d be sweating more (much more in fact) and sore like nobody’s business the next day (and for several days after…the good kind of sore that lets you know you’ve worked your muscles in a beautiful way.)  I brought myself back into the moment, and managed to hobble my way through the last interval of jogging, grateful for not giving up.

What’s more, it made me think about how I’d really like to grow my yoga practice.  I have started doing 30 minutes at home on the days the little monkey is here, after she goes to bed. I have been inspired by two women I know going through yoga teacher training – something else I would love to do when I have more time and money to commit – definitely something for my bucket list, along with doing yoga outdoors.

Tell me, are any of you yogis? Do you practice at home or elsewhere?

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1. To see what I might usually post on a Friday, go HERE.

6 comments

  1. I did do yoga for a bit and did recently joined a local yoga class but it was so gentle I hardly felt it. I am now looking for a pilates teacher instead. I have been to more intensive yoga classes before and think perhaps this class was for more people who were unable to move much. I love the mantra OM in fact you have inspired me to go chanting this afternoon before meditation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, there are all different types of yoga – maybe you did one that was a little too easy for you 🙂 Pilates I’ve tried, but I prefer yoga because it combines mind and soul into it…I like to get the most bang for my buck LOL! Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

