Q is for Quartz and other useful crystals…

In order to calm my ever-anxious, always twittering mind, and more importantly to get rid of the tightness in my chest that comes along with it, I try to meditate as often as I can.  I usually do this for a few minutes after the end of a yoga session (or at the beginning of one)…but those are more moving meditations – valuable, yes, but not the same as one that happens while still.

It seems to work best for me to do after I’ve come home, done a little (30 minutes) of yoga, showered and am sitting in my robe. I find a comfortable seat on my bed, grab my iPhone and tap on the Relax Melodies app, find the “Whale Song” station, set the timer and off I go.

I can hear you now…Didn’t she say Q is for quartz? What is all this meditation stuff she is talking about now? Gosh, this girl gets off track all. the. time.  She must have monkey mind…(Insert your eye roll here)

But seriously, more often than not, I also grab a little pouch of crystals I bought at the local Psychic Eye, the lovely shop the Man fondly refers to as the hippie store. Dumping a few of those in the palm of my hand, I close my eyes, and let them do their magic whatever that might be.

The reason I say this now, is that I seem to have lost one of my crystals, a nice clear quartz that I’ve had for a while.  I’m not sure where it might have gone, and I’m sure it will pop up again when I least expect it.

Here are a few others I tend to use:

Crystals for meditation
Where is the quartz?

Surrounding the heart-shaped selenite, I’ve got lapis lazuli, hematite, ocean jasper, unakite, and a few others of which I forget their names (I know, bad hippie.)

I’d like to get a few more meaningful ones, so that I can set some intentions with my meditations, and…figure out the mystery ones I already have.

 

Do any of you use crystals in your meditation or for any other reason? I’d like to know 🙂

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

