V is for …Victory (Big and Small)

Some of the days for this April A to Z Challenge have been…well… a challenge.  But today was an easy one. There are just a few days left and I know I am going to finish. I’m already looking forward to doing the reflection afterwards!  I’ve done a few other challenges before that have lasted about the same length of time, and after I am done, I always feel so accomplished, so …victorious!  Where I have used other challenges to try different types of writing or to get myself into the habit of doing it daily, this one has been somewhat of a brainstorm for me, and it’s been exactly what I needed.

Speaking of what I needed, I experienced another small set of victories today.  I was off of work (victory #1) originally to take the little monkey to her 5 year doctor appointment, but when I got a cancellation slot back in March, I used this day to run errands instead. I finally cleaned out my car and gave it a wash. I adjusted the car seat as now that she is 40 lbs. plus, we can no longer use LATCH. I did the bills, I made her dentist appointment. I found her birth certificate which was good because I needed it to do the most important thing of the day – register her for kindergarten.  I’m so excited for her, but as I’m sure many will understand, it’s bittersweet.  My baby is no longer a baby, but that means I’ve managed to keep her alive this long (victory #2)….and she’s flourishing (victory #3).

And speaking of small victories, Anne Lamott’s book of the same name has been on my nightstand since Christmas morning.  The good news is, I’m finally more than halfway through The Shadow of the Wind, which means it won’t be collecting dust for long.

Are all of you ready for the challenge to end? Can you taste victory? Or the agony of defeat?

Winged Victory of Samothrace
Victory, in sculpture

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE. We’ve only got four letters to go!

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. Hi from #weekendbloghop I’ve seen so many A-Z posts and now I know why! I am sad I didn’t hear about this before April!
    I also think keeping my kids alive is a victory 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

