W is for Widgets and Wildflowers

Do you ever look at something for a long time, repeatedly over days, or months, and then realize after many looks, that what you’re looking at needs a change?  That’s kind of how I’m feeling about my homepage these days.  It’s on my to-do list for my vacation in June (along with 8 billion other things for my blog.) Some days I think my widgets are too plentiful, sometimes I think they are in the wrong place and sometimes I think that there aren’t enough of the right ones. I really want to explore some other themes and see if I can make what is oldish, new again…make what is stale, fresh.

The other thing that sprang to mind for “W” was wildflowers.  In particular, the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers song of the same name…

This tune goes along with my word of the year “Freedom” which you can find out more about HERE.

You belong among the wildflowers
You belong in a boat out at sea
Sail away, kill off the hours
You belong somewhere you feel free

There have been times in my life where I have felt imprisoned, sometimes of my own doing, and sometimes not. Sometimes personally, sometimes professionally. I’ve mistaken familiar for right, safety for true love, and worst of all, a long leash for sovereignty.

As I creep closer to 40, I’m realizing more and more Tom Petty is singing to me.

I am a wildflower. Sturdy, resilient and beautiful. Maybe not what tradition dictates, or what societal norms prefer, but I can and need to feel free despite all that.

In the coming year, I want to explore the concepts of being wild and free and see how that affects my life and my writing.  It in many ways is the polar opposite of my default – anxious and contained…which tells me that I’m on the right path.

Antelope_Valley_Poppy_Preserve

Happy Monday to you all – Mindful and Meditative tidbits will be back on May 4.

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE. We’ve only got three (X, Y, and Z) to go!

Stay tuned during the month of April to see what other subjects I want to explore…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

