Z is for Zucchini Bread and other Zesty Items

We’re at the end of the A to Z road! For those of you who are parents of small people, you might identify with this one.  When the little monkey was somewhere between not talking and saying half-words, and starting to stray from her love for suck-em-down pouches (vegetables for kids), I obsessed over finding ways to shove more green fibrous elements into her little body.  She has a very discerning palette, but zucchini is very….non-descript. Most especially, if it is sprinkled liberally with semi-sweet chocolate chips. I thought maybe I had a chance of getting it down her gullet.

It was love at first bite for the child  – she lovingly called it “kini” bread and asked for more of it.

Dontchu be takin' my kini bread away mama!
Dontchu be takin’ my kini bread away mama!

Believe it or not 3 1/2 years later, we’ve come to an experimental eating phase in the life of the little monkey. I think it’s the perfect time to start exploring other items to feed her. No longer just a mac n’ cheese aficionado, she has ventured onto ravioli (good), mushroom pizza (good), salmon (I didn’t really like it, but aren’t you glad I tried it? Yes!), raw tomatoes (middling)….pretty much anything I have on my plate she will have a bite of.

Me thinks it’s time to try a few new zucchini bread recipes, not to mention some other menu items…

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE. It’s over for this year, but there’s always next year! It’s been fun, and I hope you’ve had some fun reading the posts.

I return to my senses….tomorrow!

2 comments

  1. Years ago, I worked with a guy who swore he hated zucchini and could detect it in any food, “There’s no way zucchini can *ever* taste good.” So, I made a zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting and took it to work. I let him eat three helpings before telling him what kind of cake it was. HA!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

