Invest In You – Mindful and Meditative Mondays #14

Most parents will tell you, once you have children, you forget yourself in many ways far too often. Most of this forgetfulness comes from the result of your time being dedicated to someone small needing assistance. The other two percent of the forgetfulness comes from being so exhausted from dedicating that time that you just fall asleep.

You forget to eat.

You forget to pee.

You forget to exercise.

You forget to call your friends.

You forget to get enough sleep.

You forget to show your lover that you still love them.

You forget to read your gajillion downloaded Kindle books.

You also forget to read the stack of 5 novels on your nightstand.

You forget that in a few years, the littles will be bigs, and off on their own and you’re going to have to find something to do other than being dedicated to someone else’s needs.

 

Since one of my littles is across the country this week and the other is still in the womb, and the bonus is where he usually is half way across the country, I’m taking this week to remember myself.

 

I’ve taken a few long walks, I’m meeting up with old friends, I’ve kissed the Man like I mean it, I’ve slept in. I’ve napped (though to be fair, I do that with the little monkey here!) I might possibly get my hair cut so I don’t look like a ragged muffin any longer.

For today I leave you with this:

Invest In You
Invest In You

 

 

4 comments

  1. This hit home. Thank you for the post! I have been recently thinking a lot about this, and wondering how other parents (have the time to) Practice mindfulness on a daily basis. I need some sort of hypnotic cue word that snaps me back into the present moment! Anyways, I am new to blogging but feel free to check out my site for information on and my experiences raising mindful, bilingual and socially conscious children. Best, Hope

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s hard…I find that meditating daily helps me deal with the obstacles I encounter during the course of the day. I usually do it right before bed, with a special relaxation app. It helps me be more in the moment during the day….thanks for stopping by – I’m glad the post resonated with you. I’ll be sure to check out your site!

      Like

Leave a Reply

