If We Were Having Coffee – August, 9, 2015

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I think my pelvis has finally healed from the long walk we took yesterday. At the beginning of the year, I could do a 4-mile walk without any problems. Then I got pregnant, incredibly tired and felt ill for the better part of three months and my stamina is not what it once was. When we returned from the walk, I put my feet up and fooled around on my laptop, writing my Hotel California post and when I tried to get up, I felt like my hips were about to fall apart. Not cute.

If we were having coffee, I’m pretty sure we’d be sitting on the couch so I could rest up some more because the only thing that makes me feel better is to continue to sit on my rear end.  I’d tell you I finally saw About A Boy and that I find Hugh Grant as charming as ever really.  I meant to see the movie when it came out…13 years ago! Ouch. Better late than never.

I’d tell you I went to my student’s memorial on Friday night and the Man accompanied me.  It was just about as rough as I thought it would be and I still can’t believe that he’s gone. It’s almost like that happened in an alternate universe and I expect him to one day come back and ask me why I gave his diploma to his brother.  I suppose I am still in the denial stage of grief. It was heartening to see so many people there, and to see his family being taken care of by their church community.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that after the last few weeks, I decided that this weekend I was going to be very nice to myself. I slept in Saturday morning, exercised (that would be the long walk that nearly broke me…so I guess that was overdoing it?), and I have a massage and mani/pedi scheduled for today.  I also have work that I brought home, but that is also being nice to myself in a way because it will set me up to not be behind for the week!

I’d tell you that this upcoming week is the last week of summer camp for the little monkey and that I seriously cannot believe she is starting kindergarten in nine days. Nine!  I’m so excited for her and heartbroken at the same time. My little baby, my first baby is growing up.

I’d also tell you that I failed my 1-hour glucose test for gestational diabetes by 18 points. And then I’d tell you I’m 18 weeks along, nearly half way through the pregnancy…I’ll be doing the 3-hour this coming Friday and I pray that I pass that one with flying colors. I’ve already started paying more attention to the grams of carbohydrates in the foods I eat, and I tell you, I have no idea what I’m going to do if the results are not favorable. I’m going to hope for the best.

I’d ask you if you were lucky enough to see any of the Republican debates this week.  I’d ask you if you brought popcorn to the show. I’d tell you I only followed on Twitter since we don’t have cable and that’s good enough for me.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the conversation had between the Man, myself and my high school friends last Sunday evening was infinitely more respectful and productive than anything that went on at those debates.  I’d tell you I was so glad to see them and talk with them, and that I’m glad that 25+ years has only aged the friendships like fine wine. I’d ask you if you had any friendships like this, and I hope that you’d say yes because they are gold.

If we were having coffee, by this time, I’d have to cut our visit a bit short, because in addition to the taking care of myself portion of the weekend, I also need to start making room for the new baby in the little Monkey’s closet. I’ve already cleaned out half of her drawers, so at least I’m on my way.  I’d tell you I’ll see you next week and to have a great one….until next time….

9 comments

  1. Thanks for the conversation over coffee. I enjoyed it, much like I enjoyed our conversation last Sunday night. I look forward to more conversations over coffee and Chinese food in the next 25 years. Love you.

    P.S. I will be thinking of you during your 3 hour test 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love you too! So grateful for the interwebs so when we can’t have Chinese food, at least we can have virtual coffee….when are you going to get back to YOUR blog??? 🙂

      Like

  2. If you do end up with gestational diabetes, it can be handled very easily. I had it with my last of three. My daughter had it her first pregnancy. No problems with either my or my daughter’s pregnancy because of the gestational diabetes. I had a big baby (well big for me, she was 8 lbs. 11 oz. and 24 1/2 inches long) and came as a scheduled C-section two weeks early because I had a placenta praevia and she was transverse breech. But as for the diabetes, that didn’t cause any problems.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was semi-diagnosed (I say that because the doctors in the practice had differing opinions) with my first at 36 weeks …I ran around like a crazy person and changed my diet…for the two weeks she decided to stay inside. My water broke 2 weeks before my due date and because she was breech I also had a C-Section. But she was only 7 lbs. 7 oz.! I know it will be okay, Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hope you’re resting and that your pelvis is feeling much better! And good luck with the gestational diabetes test, too. I hope that the results are good ones. 🙂

    I know it must’ve been difficult to be at that memorial, too.

    What a week—glad you’re treating yourself to a relaxing go of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

