I Want Candy

As I wandered around the store, checking things off my list, finally getting the grocery shopping yesterday, I sang along to whatever the Trader Joe’s radio station was playing. When the tracks switched and I heard the first few notes of the next tune, I thought to myself,”They’re playing my new theme song.”

That song was Bow Wow Wow’s “I Want Candy.”

The reason I want it (as I’m usually not a big candy hound) is because I just found out I can’t have any, and that’s the way it usually goes doesn’t it?  While my pregnancy with the little monkey caused my sugars to be borderline, this time around I stepped over the border.  Not too far thankfully, but I do indeed have the gestational diabetes this time around.  When I got the results I was so damn bummed, not only because it could affect the baby, but because the next 18 weeks or so of eating will be bereft of many of my go-to quick meals and things to eat.

C’est la vie.  I must do what is good for the baby and for my health.  And in the meantime, I will sing this song loud and proud and rather than thinking about a guy in a sweater, I will think about small gobs of peanut butter wrapped in chocolate, surround by a glaringly orange wrapper.

I want candy!
I want candy!

Enjoy your earwig 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

