Introducing….Bubble and Diamond! #WeekendCoffeeShare 09.06.2015

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I had been super happy smiley about the little monkey’s new fish and that I was going to tell you all about them today.  Unfortunately, while I had wanted to introduce you to both of the fish…one is already sleeping with the fishes.  Diamond left this world sometime in the wee hours of Saturday morning and is now travelling the big East Australian Current in the sky…or the sea. Something tells me that Bailey’s in my coffee might be a good idea…except, the baby says no.

I had kind of warned the little monkey that goldfish don’t usually last that long, but I didn’t expect one to leave us after just a week. Maybe it was the fact that Petco gave us zero information on how to care for them. Or Diamond was sick to begin with. Or we might have given them too much food. Or the poor thing got stuck in the crazy fake pink seaweed that we had in the tank. In any case, I knew something was up in the morning when the Diamond didn’t eat like Bubble did. He looked a little off, but I hoped for the best (despite the cloudiness that had permeated the water)…and sure enough, the worst happened. The monkey was with her Dad this weekend so didn’t get to be a part of the burial, but here she is with them in happier times:

I’d tell you I FaceTimed with her to tell her the bad news…and she was super upset…for three seconds, right before she asked for another fish.  She’s informed us she would like to go on the outing to get another fish and that (and this is a direct quote), “If Bubble dies, I’m not gonna be happy.” Well child, we’re doing our best over here. Between the Man and I, I think we gave that fish more attention than we gave each other today. Well, kind of 🙂

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you how surprising it is that I’ve got used to drinking it without any sugar whatsoever. I’d also tell you that the change in diet, while annoying, has been good for my health.  I’ve been relatively strict for me, so when I start testing my sugars, hopefully the news is good.

I’d tell you all about the little monkey’s  first encounter with bullies, and how sick it made me.

I’d tell you that I took a big leap of faith and became a skin care consultant for Rodan + Fields .  It’s in many ways out of my comfort zone, but at the same time is going to use a lot of the skills I have. I’d tell you I have two super cool websites you can check out if you’re interested, and that in about a month I’m having a launch party to start things off on the right foot. I’d tell you I’m hopeful and excited about it…and I can’t wait to see how it goes!

I’d tell you the Man and I watched In America, a movie about immigrants coming to the U.S. from Ireland. I’d also tell you there are just some movies I shouldn’t watch while pregnant, so that I don’t end up sobbing, and that this was one of them.

I’d ask you what you were doing this Labor Day weekend (besides drinking Java with me)…

I’d tell you I expect to spend parts of the rest of the weekend lounging in a pool to send summer off properly (at least I hope it’s going away….this lady needs some cooler weather!)

And then I’d excuse myself for a short nap, because these days, those are very needed. I’d tell you mi casa es su casa and I hope I don’t snore.

And when I woke up, if you hadn’t yet gone home, I’d tell you that I was hungry and needed to eat again. And we’d eat. And then you’d head home and have a great week ahead.

Please head over to Part Time Monster for the Weekend Coffee Share link-up to check out some other fabulous bloggers’ brands of java.

 

7 comments

  1. Sorry to hear about the fish! Little Jedi had a beta fish several years ago, but when we moved here it stayed at my parents’ house, and it died shortly after. He hasn’t wanted another, which is good, because I’m shite at keeping up aquariums and don’t want to hurt the little fish. Also sorry to hear about that initial encounter with bullies—that’s really tough. Hope you get a lovely nap, though!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t remember it being this much work as a kid and back then we just had a bowl and some snails to clean it..now we have a filter and the whole bit ….way more work! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve had the whole works a few times, and I inevitably manage to kill the fish somehow, so I’m just glad that Little Jedi is sticking with the pup and not wanting more fish! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the coffee! I’m sorry about your fish. I think it might be tougher for parents to tell kids about a pet’s death than it is for the kids! The young ones, at least …

    We got a fish recently too. It’s funny to watch my little guys talk to it. I’ll learn more from eavesdropping on their conversations with Red than they ever tell me directly!

    Your comment about crying during movies made me laugh. The first time I *knew* I was pregnant was when I cried while watching “Sex and the City.” Such a not sad movie …

    I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

