Peanut Butter Protein Pancakes

Last weekend, the little monkey requested pancakes for breakfast.  Now, I love me some pancakes but my current condition says that many carbs in one meal is a no-no. So I told her that I could make pancakes, but they would have to be Mommy’s special pancakes – the protein-laden version.

I’ve had a little recipe in my stash for a while now and have waited for the perfect time to use it.  I got it from the sample bar at Trader Joe’s (believe it!) and it went like this:

TC’s Protein Pancakes (TC is an employee at my local store):

Ingredients:

4 eggs

1/2 cup of Fat Free Greek Yogurt

1/4 cup of Half & Half

1/2 cup of Cashew Butter

1 tbsp. of Baking Powder

1/2 cup of Brown Sugar

1 tbsp. of Bourbon Vanilla Extract

4 cups of Rolled Oats

Directions:

Blend all the ingredients together in a blender, or in a food processor

Cook like a regular pancake

 

Now of course, I didn’t have several of the ingredients listed because, well that’s the way it goes, and I only made half a batch, but I was able to improvise…

Instead of the yogurt, I subbed 1/4 cup small curd cottage cheese

Instead of the cashew butter, I subbed 1/4 cup Organic natural peanut butter…

And I mixed it all up to look like this:

PB Pancake Batter

Now it looks a little thick, and that’s because it was a little thick. In fact, I think I could have used it as mortar.  But, I still had faith they would taste good. I buttered up my griddle (because that is how I cook my regular pancakes) and hoped for the best.

I plopped little pancake turds down on the hot butter and watched as they turned into something resembling…well, breakfast hamburgers:

PB Protein Pancakes
Hamburgers, donuts or pancakes? You decide.

Served with a little dollop of whipped cream and syrup for the non-diabetics in the family, these actually tasted pretty darn good. I don’t have the exact carb counts, but my numbers were pretty good after eating 3 of these and it satisfied my pancake craving. (I was sure to pair them with more protein just to be on the safe side.)

They taste a bit like muffins with a hint of peanut butter crossed with a crunchy, airy pancake. If you’re looking for an alternative to your traditional recipe, give these a try!

 

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

