3 Words + 1

I don’t have a great deal of close friends, but I’m about quality over quantity, so this suits me fine. One of these gems asked me the following on Christmas Day – what were the 3 words that I would use to sum up the previous week?  In that previous week, I had delivered my son via C-Section, come home and in the midst of it all, been celebrating the holidays with the newest addition and the rest of my family.

I thought about it for a few minutes and my reply was this:

Magical.

Exhausting.

Worthwhile.

I tell you this now because I thought of these words when I was coming up with my “word” for 2016.  Kristen over at Bag Lady Lulu introduced me to this idea a little over a year ago where one comes up with a focus for the new year rather than several resolutions that end up not amounting to anything. Whereas last year my word was “freedom”, I wanted to come up with something as important to me for this year.  The end of 2015 was quite busy as you can imagine and I nearly forgot about coming up with a word until my friend asked me the question on Christmas.

I hemmed and hawed about what I might need to focus on this year and two words came to mind – commitment and consistency.  They felt right for a little while, but I wasn’t totally happy with them, so I put off writing this post.

In one of my many nursing sessions with the littlest monkey, I visited a few blogs I’ve been neglecting and came across this post from Kat over at Dandelion Fuzz. It reminded me that the word or words I was looking for should come from my heart and soul, not necessarily my head.

So I thought about it. I sat with it some more.

And I arrived at this…

For 2016, I will consistently commit to creating a magical and worthwhile life.

My 3 words + 1.

Magical_elakala-waterfall-2_ForestWander
Could my life be as magical as this waterfall looks?

It acknowledges that it might not always be easy (likely it will sometimes be exhausting), but that my intention is to make my life and the lives of those most important to me, memorable in the best possible way. If something doesn’t align with that, I’ll reevaluate whether it needs to continue being a part of my life.

It’s near the end of January – have you already fallen off your resolution for 2016? Did you make one? Do you have a word for this year instead? Leave a comment below…

7 comments

  1. Love your 3words+1 , and love that it came from the heart. Peace has been a word coming up a lot for me and it feels like it’s about finding the inner Peace so that it can shine through and radiate into the world around. My other challenge this year is to acknowledge my own beauty and to listen to and nurture my inner self. So my three words are Peace, Beauty and Nurture. Thanks so much for your post, just what I needed this morning 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been thinking about this idea quite a bit since hearing about it on a podcast I was listening to over the holiday break. I’ve gone back and forth with many different ideas but I eventually decided upon ‘consistency’. Consistency in a healthy diet, consistency in exercise, consistency in working on my blog. Consistency in doing the small things each day that add up to big things in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lovely idea. I haven’t made any new year resolutions as I always think they end up being faddy and come unstuck by February… maybe I’ll have to try coming up with a word instead! With a new baby on the way, and a new blog which I hope will take off, maybe I’ll try my best to make this year ‘special’ x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

