A is for Ask for Help #atozchallenge

First of 26

The first of 26…what’s the first way I think we can show kindness to one another? Now this may sound counter-intuitive, but the first way is to ask for help. No, really, hear me out…

If you ask for help, the other person may feel needed, useful and have purpose. To do this for someone who feels lacking in this department can give them a reason to get up in the morning. This is kind.

If you ask for help, the other person won’t have to guess or make assumptions on what you need. I think anyone who has ever been married or in a serious relationship can attest to this being an act of kindness!

If you ask for help, you are being vulnerable and showing members of your family or community that it’s okay to be vulnerable too. You may be granting permission for someone to admit to themselves something they haven’t been able to before…discontent, depression, anxiety, abuse…the list can go on and on.

A little unconventional, not the traditional pay-it-forward, buy-the-person-in-front-of-you-a-cup-of-coffee-in-the-Starbucks-line, but a kindness nonetheless.

What_if_I_ask_for_help

What do you think? Have you ever asked for help and had it benefit another?

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see other ways in which you can incorporate kindness into your daily life and encourage others to do the same…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

16 comments

  1. A student at a music camp I chaperoned asked me to play a saxophone solo. I hadn’t played a solo in more than 20 years! I instinctively asked two of the more spiritual members of the counseling staff to pray with me to give me ability to do this … just opening up to them helped foster our relationship and gave me the strength to do my best.

    Glad to have found you through the A to Z Challenge!

    Eli@Tech Life (#1236)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great theme. You’re absolutely right about asking for help being a kindness. I think in the sense that others are invited to bless you by offering their advice or help, it’s very kind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

