C is for Call Your Loved Ones #atozchallenge

I know. No one calls anyone anymore, right? We’ve got email, text, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat…who needs to dial those digits? I mean, does anyone ever use their cell phone minutes these days? The answer I suspect, is hardly anyone. Or at the least, a whole lot less of us than even just a few years ago.

To go the extra mile in kindness, pick up the phone, dial that number and actually talk to the person on the other line. Call them. 

iPhone 6S Plus Keypad
Use this to dial! At least on an iPhone 🙂

Why? To let them hear your voice. To hear theirs. To sing them “Happy Birthday.” To get your point across without the ambiguity of text (or text plus emoji.) To tell them you love them…

Because tomorrow you might not be able to. Because the sound of someone’s voice can be comforting to both parties. The surprise of a phone call today when hardly anyone does it anymore will put a smile on someone’s face. Because Grandma will appreciate it. So will Mom…and Dad.C

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see other ways in which you can incorporate kindness into your daily life and encourage others to do the same…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

10 comments

  1. So true! All this technology to keep us connected but at times it means we no longer speak to anyone directly. Great post and good luck with the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Sometimes I feel we are more disconnected than ever. Every time we go out I look around and people are sitting together but buried in their phones. There’s that idea of everyone putting their phones in the center of the table and whoever grabs first has to pay…I think it’s a good idea 🙂

      Like

  2. My mom is the only person I always call. There are friends who prefer phone calls and I appreciate that- not because I like talking on the phone- but because it does force a more personal connection. It’s easy to lose that sense of intimacy with a friend through texts. I’m afraid that the people growing up in a texting/social media filled world will lose those face to face or voice to voice interactions and their importance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, as a teacher I also see the effects in writing. You don’t speak in conversation like you would in a text oftentimes, nor how you normally write, but if kids are always mostly texting….sigh…I’m glad you call your Mom 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

